Toyota Auris (2007 - 2013)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 July 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2021
5
reviewed by dennis andrew on 22 November 2019
3
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 31 May 2018
5
reviewed by Roy Britton on 2 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anthony13 on 4 October 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 August 2017
3
reviewed by David Cotter on 20 August 2016
5
reviewed by 7omly on 5 November 2015
2
reviewed by A M Malik on 12 April 2015
4
reviewed by colinh on 18 February 2015
4
reviewed by GranTurismo on 30 August 2014
4
reviewed by Tuckshop on 4 June 2014
3
reviewed by eagleeye on 30 March 2014
5
reviewed by smitham on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Bloodstain on 23 January 2014
3
reviewed by RunningInPleasePass on 6 January 2014
5
reviewed by Auristocrat on 5 November 2012
5
reviewed by leonora on 15 May 2012
4

T4 HSD 1.8 VVT-i 5dr (15" alloys) 5dr Auto Hatchback

reviewed by colinh on 19 February 2012
4
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Economical petrol automatic

Just completed 4000 km in my first month with the car. Long trips from NW to SE Spain and from NW Spain to SW France have not been ideal for economy motoring, plus the hybrids are not at their best in cold weather as the heater takes power. However the key figure is 52.3 mpg according to my "fuelly" site reading:

http://www.fuelly.com/driver/cuius/auris

The best I've achieved is 62.7 whilst in the warmer SE Spain and just doing short trips from home to shopping and the beach - so the potential is there.

In Spain we are entitled to a subsidy for purchase of hybrids (up to €3,000 depending on the region), so the "hybrid" part of the car is free - hence my view that this can be directly compared to a normal petrol automatic. By comparison my overall average readings for previous cars were - BMW 2.0l diesel manual 49.3 - VW 2.0l DSG diesel 50.4 - Kia 2.0l petrol auto 37.7 - this was for the same type of motoring - rural based interspersed with long cruise-controlled motorway trips.

My car came with the Connect pack - basically an integrated TomTom sat-nav, which also combines radio, cd, dvd, usb and mp3 player (and rear-view camera in the Spirit version). It will also connect an iPod - but the cable required is an extra €150 including fitting, which seems a "rip-off". Why Toyota haven't included a standard connection á la Kia, etc., is a mystery - the Connect pack is a €930 extra initially (although it was "free" as part of the purchase deal).

Some grouses - the rear window wiper has only a 2/3 rds sweep arc, so rear vision is not helped- the front cubby is tucked under the console and is difficult to reach - the boot is short, i.e., from back of seat to bumper (this applies to all versions of the Auris) and the HSD overall volume is reduced by the additional battery.

Overall - an excellent petrol automatic - smooth, quiet running on 15" alloys - good economy

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by sandy56 on 6 February 2012
3
reviewed by Norvass on 1 January 2012
4
reviewed by rogthegog on 18 June 2011
2
reviewed by pheasant on 17 May 2011
2
reviewed by pheasant on 17 May 2011
3
reviewed by rohill on 9 March 2011
2
reviewed by tomgarvie on 20 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,505–£28,395
Road TaxA–H
MPG39.8–74.3 mpg
Real MPG83.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car