Hyundai ix20 (2010 - 2018)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 March 2021
5
reviewed by Dawn Clarke on 30 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 September 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 November 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 November 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 August 2018
5
reviewed by Leafylandlad on 6 September 2017
5
reviewed by mjod1952 on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by avidhjreader on 16 January 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 December 2016
5
reviewed by Lloyd Feldman on 10 August 2016
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 February 2016
3
reviewed by oldchap on 27 March 2015
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 July 2014
5
reviewed by walkerman on 3 February 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 November 2013
5
reviewed by Davets on 7 February 2013
2
reviewed by Dingbat on 7 November 2012
2
reviewed by andrew w on 8 October 2012
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 October 2012
4

IX20 1.4 CRDi Style

reviewed by AlanTR on 8 September 2012
4
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

A comfortable, easy to drive, practical small MPV with eye-catching style.

The car is stylish for an MPV, roomy and practical with a high level of equipment. The interior layout and appearance is excellent. The seats provide good support and comfort for long journeys. The glass sunroof is good to use on sunny days if you prefer some contact with the outside world instead of using the air conditioning, but wind noise levels can be intrusive over 50 mph. It is easy to drive with pleasantly weighted power steering and easy gear changing. The diesel engine can sound a little raucous if worked hard.

The quality of the interior plastics is average and the material in some areas has poor resistance to scratches. With hard use, after a few years, the car might start to look a little worn and weary .

Storage space is good with plenty of room under the boot floor for items you would prefer to keep out of sight or prevent from rolling about.

The published fuel consumption figures do not compare with reality. For instance, urban driving seldom returns better than 48 mpg (my figures) and that's driving with a light foot.

The 5 year warranty is a big attraction but there is a downside to this - poor spare parts support for the IX20 model. Our car experienced a failure of the nearside rear caliper (7th August 2012) which jammed in the 'handbrake on' position. We were told that the wait for a new caliper is approximately 4 weeks! Even worse is the fact that Hyundai will only change the failed caliper not the rear set (both sides), so you could get your car fixed and have a repeat problem on the other side shortly afterwards. I have seen, on the owner forums, IX20 owners reporting follow-on caliper failures which have occurred after the first caliper was replaced.

I have asked Hyundai Customer Service if the failures are being investigated by Hyundai and a permanent solution found, but they can't or won't give me an answer. There have been no recalls of the model that I am aware of.

My knowledge of the lack of spares is restricted to brake parts, but it does make you wonder what else you might have to wait ages for. To conclude the brake caliper story: surprisingly got a call on 20th August, to say the car is ready - it took 12 days instead of the estimated 28 days, still too long but a big and welcome improvement.

On the 6th September I learnt that Hyundai had issued a Technical Services Bulletin (TSB) that IX20 cars built before April 2012 should be recalled to have a rear caliper upgrade. I contacted my local dealer and they confirmed that my car was eligible for the upgrade. The dealer has ordered the parts and will inform me when they are in stock. So, it seems that Hyundai have come up with a hopefully permanent fix for the rear caliper problem.

In conclusion - a really excellent car which is blighted by a slow spare parts back-up. Recent developments indicate that the spares situation and brake problem is being resolved; this is good news as the IX20 is up there with the best MPVs available.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by videan on 1 September 2012
4
reviewed by Ffiscool on 17 August 2012
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 March 2012
3
reviewed by Coasting on 5 March 2012
5
reviewed by avidhjreader on 18 December 2011
3
reviewed by Dave C on 23 October 2011
5
reviewed by plinkaplinka on 11 August 2011
5
reviewed by avidhjreader on 17 June 2011
5
reviewed by pantherfan on 15 June 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,450–£19,200
Road TaxC–G
MPG40.9–65.7 mpg
Real MPG80.1%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by LP in Brighton
 

Value my car