Ford Focus (2014 - 2018)

3
reviewed by Tristan Stevens on 24 June 2020
1
reviewed by MATTHEW MARLOW on 29 October 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 June 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 March 2019
4
reviewed by John Mogg on 31 October 2018
5

1.0T 100 Zetec Edition EcoBoost 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by peanut on 23 October 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

All round excellence

I've had this car 18 months now, so time to review it. I find, when I get a new car, I am attracted to various features, which are great, but over the following months, I get to find out what is not so good about it. The vices come to the surface. I can honestly say, except for 2 caveats, that the Focus has been just great, with no downsides. It is a great car.
Interior: Compared to the previous version, Ford has really upped their game, and the interior has a premium feel to it. Everything is well laid out and well screwed together. The seats are comfy for 300 miles. It's just a very pleasant place to be. SYNC 3 seems to do the job in a neat and efficient manner - never had reason to complain, except maybe it likes to take shortcuts down impossibly narrow lanes. I sometimes ignore it.
Driving. I tried a Focus with larger wheels and loads of toys. The larger wheels do make the drive more 'crashy', so I opted for smaller wheels which soak up the bumps well, and the roadholding seems fine. I don't like all the extras, like lane assist and rain sensors. Auto rain never seemed to get it right, and I hated the car fighting me for control. Auto lights was handy, though. So I got a version without all this. Basically, its a hoot to drive, a real pleasure, with twisty A or B roads being especially fun. And yet it is fine cruising on the Motorway as well. I thought a 1 litre Ecoboost would be woefully inadeqaute, but the 125PS version is just fine, even nippy. There is loads of 'grunt' at low revs. I was concerned about the fuel economy, having read all the neagitive reports, so I used the first tank of fuel to do a couple of long journeys, just to help the engine bed in: being sympathetic to it, yet gently stretching it. I also follow HJ's advice and use premium fuel. After 18 months, and 9000 miles, the average is 51 mpg. Not bad for such a large car, and some 'eager' driving.
The two negative caveats. 1. It is a large car. And wide. It is way bigger than an old Focus, and more like an old Mondeo. As the 'corners' slope away, you have little idea where they are, so parking sensors are a must. 2. Ford servicing is not cheap. I guess what they lose in buyer discounts they want to make back elsewhere.
Overall, it has been a delight, and not a thing gone wrong. I have no idea why people associate the blue oval badge with lesser quality than a german badge.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by M gwynne on 12 July 2018
4
reviewed by Laurence Marchant on 7 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 February 2018
4
reviewed by fash on 31 January 2018
4
reviewed by Roger Tempest on 24 January 2018
4
reviewed by paul millett on 11 October 2017
1
reviewed by David Fleetwood on 21 May 2017
2
reviewed by David Fleetwood on 26 February 2017
5
reviewed by efad2 on 18 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 January 2017
4
reviewed by markcoe69 on 8 January 2017
5
reviewed by Stevepooly on 27 April 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 April 2016
2
reviewed by Johnoa on 9 April 2016
4
reviewed by wparkin on 10 December 2015
5
reviewed by efad2 on 31 January 2015

Write your review

About this car

Price£31,680
Road TaxA–F
MPG44.8–83.1 mpg
Real MPG71.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by David Johannsen
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by waffler
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car