Ford Focus (2014 - 2018)

3
reviewed by Tristan Stevens on 24 June 2020
1
reviewed by MATTHEW MARLOW on 29 October 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 June 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 March 2019
4
reviewed by John Mogg on 31 October 2018
5
reviewed by peanut on 23 October 2018
3
reviewed by M gwynne on 12 July 2018
4
reviewed by Laurence Marchant on 7 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 February 2018
4
reviewed by fash on 31 January 2018
4
reviewed by Roger Tempest on 24 January 2018
4
reviewed by paul millett on 11 October 2017
1
reviewed by David Fleetwood on 21 May 2017
2
reviewed by David Fleetwood on 26 February 2017
5
reviewed by efad2 on 18 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 January 2017
4
reviewed by markcoe69 on 8 January 2017
5
reviewed by Stevepooly on 27 April 2016
5

1.5TDCi 120 Zetec S Nav 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Anonymous on 12 April 2016
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer

Fantastic competent car

This is my 4th Focus, I've owned a Mk1 (2000) 1.6 LX, Mk2 (2008 facelift) 1.8 TDCi Zetec, Mk3 (2013) 1.6 TDCi Zetec S and this car is by far the best I have ever driven or owned to date.

It is like Ford have taken the best bits of all of the cars and incorporated them into this new version. The drive is beautiful and smooth even on sports suspension, the steering is a massive improvement on the previous car - communicative and rock solid at speed, the interior is very well put together and again worlds apart from previous models, the 8" touchscreen transforming the experience (despite my scepticism about these systems in general). Navigation is superb and very well designed. Sports seats are very comfortable and the engine and gearbox are superb - the flexibility and refinement over the old 1.6 TDCi is incredible. It pulls strongly in any gear without hesitation and even in 6th from 60+. It really does feel like a more potent engine than would be expected. There's none of the flat spots of the old 1.8 diesel and it is so smooth and quiet it surprises me every time I start the car. I'm getting 56 mpg to date and for a new car I can't complain as I expect it to loosen up.

I can't comment on reliability as I've not had the car long but I don't doubt it will be as reliable as the previous cars I have owned and we have a fantastic local family-run dealership who will bend over backwards to make the experience a positive one. Yes, it doesn't clunk the same as a VW when you close the door but since when has driving been about how well a door slams.

I've driven civics, golfs, leons and can honestly say this is the perfect balance at least for me. We've even gone 4 up with a weeks worth of luggage, pushchair the lot so yes the boot is 'only' 300 odd litres but actually it's a good shape and works well.

All in all - try before you buy - I didn't personally like the 1.0 Ecoboost it just didn't have the grunt and I'd expect early 40s mpg as a result of driving it harder, however I am really pleased with this car and would recommend it to anyone.

Report as offensive

2
reviewed by Johnoa on 9 April 2016
4
reviewed by wparkin on 10 December 2015
5
reviewed by efad2 on 31 January 2015

Write your review

About this car

Price£31,680
Road TaxA–F
MPG44.8–83.1 mpg
Real MPG71.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by David Johannsen
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by waffler
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car