BMW X3 (2010 - 2018)

5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 12 June 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 January 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 July 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 January 2021
5

3.0 30d SE xDrive 5dr

reviewed by Diane Booth on 17 October 2020
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Comfy, fast, economic. just fabulous

Ok so I never thought I'd buy a BMW, I've always been a bit of a Mercedes chick tbh, but I needed a new car and I saw this one, so I thought I'd buy it. It was a high mileage, ex-Lexus lease car so fully maintained, though it had a few sc***es and broken bits when I bought it, I got it for a reasonable price (£12k) having fallen in love with how it felt when I drove it on the test drive.

Since I've owned it around 90,000 miles have gone on to the clock and my car is as sweet today at 195,000 as it was when I picked it up with a lot of motorway miles on the clock.

It's really comfy, very fast, masses and masses of torque and my kids, even love it (and they are very picky!!!). The space in the cabin is great - 2 adult kids, 3 dogs and me plus a weeks worth of going away gear can easily fit in, alternatively I've had single beds, wardrobes, dining table, chairs, 2 adult pedal bikes and loads of other stuff in - it manages big loads no problems.

i get between 39 and 45 mpg (UK) out of every tank in a vehicle like this with a beast of an engine and the power, that's amazingly frugal. I recently drove a round trip of 200 miles (190 motorway) and was held at 60mph the whole trip on the motorway due mainly to roadworks and I got 48mpg - the fuel efficiency of this car really is class leading.

There was a recall on it, which was incredibly aggravating - my car spent 12wks in the garage and I was given a Vauxhall Mokka to drive around in, which was a good car, but very thirsty when compared to my X3 - loads of my friends, when I complained about my car being in the garage, just didn't get it - a new Mokka or a 6-year-old X3 surely the Mokka would be better and more fuel-efficient - how wrong they were.

In the period of my ownership, I have replaced the tyres 2 x, the last time being in February 2020. It's had new brake pads and discs once, about 2 years ago, and replaced the ball joint on the front ns in February 2020 - too many potholes methinks! BMW garages charge the earth - good customer service but I had to move away and now use Halfords who have been pucker.

Just before lockdown the arms on my boot stopped working and I can't find anyone to replace them, so the heavy boot has to be held open by someone whilst someone else loads it - really annoying!

Anyways, with clean air zone coming to my local city centre next year, 195,000 miles on the clock and the car being 8 years old with a small leak on the engine (according to my last MOT) I really need to replace it before it starts to cost me a lot in terms of maintenance/repair. I'd like another X3, but they are expensive, so what can I get instead????

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 February 2020
4
reviewed by Lowflier on 7 August 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 21 March 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 January 2019
5
reviewed by James Dowling on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2018
5
reviewed by Agiclone on 21 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Frank on 30 August 2016
5
reviewed by recycler on 18 July 2016
4
reviewed by dme on 31 May 2015
5
reviewed by pedro7th on 8 December 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by Zs dead on 15 October 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2014
4
reviewed by 24PAL on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by ermo on 26 April 2014
4
reviewed by strathspey on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by timblackprince on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Keith L on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by ph48 on 22 December 2013
1
reviewed by porscheBarry on 23 January 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 November 2012
4
reviewed by david williamson on 16 August 2012
2
reviewed by RICH69 on 12 April 2012
5
reviewed by gordben on 27 March 2012
3
reviewed by popeye3 on 5 March 2012
3
reviewed by the1beard on 28 December 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£28,970–£47,145
Road TaxE–K
MPG36.7–56.5 mpg
Real MPG80.6%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer