BMW X3 (2010 - 2018)

5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 12 June 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 January 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 July 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 January 2021
5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 17 October 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2020
4

xDrive 20d SE 5dr

reviewed by Anonymous on 2 February 2020
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Comfortable cabin whilst providing reasonable running costs.

My X3 is a 2011 2.0D SE in ‘Blue Water’ colour with the 17” wheels. It is probably the most basic model it came in but still well specced for a base model.

Exterior: not the best looking in this spec and the colour is probably marmite but I initially changed the wheels for the 18” y Spoke wheels that come on other models. I currently have Pirelli Run flat tyres on and will definitely go for non run flat summer tyres in March. They are awful! I got the windows tinted to factory spec for £160 and it makes a massive difference to the looks. I don’t have the xenons but the lights are pretty decent as standard.

Interior: all the models from this era come with leather as standard and I do wish I had the heated seats in the winter. The cabin is comfortable, plenty of adjustments to be made to the seat and steering column and it offers a raised driving position which folk do seem to favour these days. In the back, there’s plenty of room for adult passengers although the rear footwell is raised in the middle. The boot is massive and with the seats down it can carry so much more.

Living with it: well I commute about 400 miles a week and it returns about 42-44mpg on mixed driving. Road tax is reasonable at about £160 annually. Tyres cost a fortune at about £160-220 per corner and I’d recommend sticking with BMW star marked tyres to avoid your xdrive throwing a wobbly.

Overall - I love it, it drives like a car and cheap to run considering it’s a larger SUV. Definitely go for a look round the alternatives but if you get a decent spec X3 you’ll be happy with it.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Lowflier on 7 August 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 21 March 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 January 2019
5
reviewed by James Dowling on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2018
5
reviewed by Agiclone on 21 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Frank on 30 August 2016
5
reviewed by recycler on 18 July 2016
4
reviewed by dme on 31 May 2015
5
reviewed by pedro7th on 8 December 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by Zs dead on 15 October 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2014
4
reviewed by 24PAL on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by ermo on 26 April 2014
4
reviewed by strathspey on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by timblackprince on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Keith L on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by ph48 on 22 December 2013
1
reviewed by porscheBarry on 23 January 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 November 2012
4
reviewed by david williamson on 16 August 2012
2
reviewed by RICH69 on 12 April 2012
5
reviewed by gordben on 27 March 2012
3
reviewed by popeye3 on 5 March 2012
3
reviewed by the1beard on 28 December 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£28,970–£47,145
Road TaxE–K
MPG36.7–56.5 mpg
Real MPG80.6%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer