BMW X3 (2010 - 2018)

5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 12 June 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 January 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 July 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 January 2021
5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 17 October 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 February 2020
4
reviewed by Lowflier on 7 August 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 21 March 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 January 2019
5
reviewed by James Dowling on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2018
5
reviewed by Agiclone on 21 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Frank on 30 August 2016
5
reviewed by recycler on 18 July 2016
4
reviewed by dme on 31 May 2015
5
reviewed by pedro7th on 8 December 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by Zs dead on 15 October 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2014
4
reviewed by 24PAL on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by ermo on 26 April 2014
4
reviewed by strathspey on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by timblackprince on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Keith L on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by ph48 on 22 December 2013
1
reviewed by porscheBarry on 23 January 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 November 2012
4
reviewed by david williamson on 16 August 2012
2
reviewed by RICH69 on 12 April 2012
5
reviewed by gordben on 27 March 2012
3

BMW X3

reviewed by popeye3 on 5 March 2012
3
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Frustrating,

I have now had this car for almost a year and have just completed 20k miles. Have I enjoyed them? I am not sure. Ever since day 1, the car has a had a minor vibration to the steering wheel. Initially I put it down to poor balancing, but rebalancing has failed to get rid of it. The vibration is also inconsistent. Sometimes it is there at 60 -70, other time it isn't. I took it in to my local dealer. They said there was nothing wrong and "if you think that is bad, you should have driven the previous model" was their reply. I have come to the conclusion that it is very sensitive to road surfaces!

The car has also totally failed on me twice, both times pulling away from traffic lights. First time all of the ABS and brake warning systems came on. Second time all of the warning lights relating to transmission failure came on and the engine management system put the engine into "limp" mode. On each occasion turning off the ignition and restarting cleared the problem.

My major gripe is the poor mpg that the car delivers. My car is automatic and despite very careful driving, I have never managed to get over 40mpg. This is way short of the 50mpg figure BMW use as part of their advertising for this car. I regularly managed over 50mpg in my 58 reg, 320d series hard top convertible.

Some bits of the car I love. Easy to drive, fantastic auto box, the panoramic sunroof, reversing camera, the connected on-line facilities, sat nav and the electric tailgate.

So that is way I summed it up as "frustrating". It is great to drive with a good driving position and some nice toys (costly though - typical BMW!). However it continually disappoints in terms of the poor mpg and wheel vibration.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by the1beard on 28 December 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£28,970–£47,145
Road TaxE–K
MPG36.7–56.5 mpg
Real MPG80.6%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer