BMW X3 (2010 - 2018)

5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 12 June 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 January 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 July 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 January 2021
5
reviewed by Diane Booth on 17 October 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 February 2020
4
reviewed by Lowflier on 7 August 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 March 2019
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 21 March 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 January 2019
5
reviewed by James Dowling on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2018
5
reviewed by Agiclone on 21 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Frank on 30 August 2016
5
reviewed by recycler on 18 July 2016
4
reviewed by dme on 31 May 2015
5
reviewed by pedro7th on 8 December 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by Zs dead on 15 October 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2014
4
reviewed by 24PAL on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by ermo on 26 April 2014
4
reviewed by strathspey on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by timblackprince on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Keith L on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by ph48 on 22 December 2013
1
reviewed by porscheBarry on 23 January 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 November 2012
4
reviewed by david williamson on 16 August 2012
2

BMW X3 2.0 SE x drive Auto

reviewed by RICH69 on 12 April 2012
2
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
2
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Disappointing

I chose this car as my company ride becuase of the benficial tax rating. The car was ordered in January 2011, so didnt have the opportunity for a test drivce prior to ordering, but as we had had a previous model X3, it could only be good news with the update etc. All reviews were very promising and we eagerly awaited the delivery, expected April.

April came and went, then May and June. July was given as a tentative date and then on the first of July, the dealer advised they had received the car and should be ready in a week.

First impressions very much concured with the trade press. However after about 2k miles, a grumbling sound started to appear at certain load speeds through the drivetrain - usually about 2k revs and 40mph. Car went back to dealer to investigate and as always, the sound was not apparent.

At about 6k miles, steering fault came up on the computer. Back to dealer who under advice from BMW replaced the entire steering rack. A little bit of 'net research and certain models in the USA were recalled due to power steering problems

http://carpressrelease.com/175/2011-bmw-x3-recalled-over-power-steering-problems/

The grumbling has started to appear again.....

But that is OK - now nearing 10k miles and my local dealer now has had the car for 2 weeks looking at the failure of the drivers window regulator and have advised me that it could be upto a further 8 weeks before the part comes from Germany. Perhaps during this time they can rectify the steering????

All credit to the dealer, they have been very good throughout all of my issues and kept me upto speed at all times, but this is not something that I would expect from a supposedly high end manufacturer.

We shall wait to see how the car comes back....

All this aside, the car drives more like a car than a 4x4, but space is limited in the boot, particularly if you have young children.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by gordben on 27 March 2012
3
reviewed by popeye3 on 5 March 2012
3
reviewed by the1beard on 28 December 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£28,970–£47,145
Road TaxE–K
MPG36.7–56.5 mpg
Real MPG80.6%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer