Conman or Fool, or both, maybe. - Phlipper

Hi, I'm a small business owner, operating out of some industrial units. 3 weeks ago, I mentioned to a neighbouring business owner that I was keeping my eye out for a cheap 7 seater. He said that, coincidentally, he knew of an Espace going that he could get for £600, but it was in Rochdale (we're in Swansea). I said I'd have a look at it.

The next morning, he told me that he'd bought the car the night before, and got it for £525 for me (+ the cost of delivery), the car had 79k on the clock, 11 mths MOT and 9 mths Tax. I was chuffed. This was a Wednesday, he said the car would probably come down on Sunday. He'd paid out for the car, so I gave him the cash. On Sunday he said that getting back to Rochdale would be a problem for the driver, so they'd sorted a place on a car transporter on the cheap. Tuesday morning he said the car had been picked up, and should be with us on Wednesday. By Wednesday evening, he said the driver had hit his tacho limit, the car would be the next morning. This same excuse went on for the rest of the week, until Friday when he disappeared. He phoned to say his daughter had been taken ill, but he'd had the car dropped off with a dealership in town. Next day he said he'd spent the night in hospital with his daughter, so I left it there. The day after, his car had been stolen. The day after he'd stayed home all day waiting for a courtesy which never arrived (and still hasn't two weeks later!).

I went to the dealership that he named and walked around the thousand or so cars there. There was no car that matched, I looked everywhere. I called him and he said it'd be tucked away, I wouldn't be able to find it.

From then on, it became a problem with "waiting for a banker's draft to clear". I told him that there's no clearance time on a banker's draft. I've always had the impression that he's a fool, rather than a conman, and that he had spoken too soon on a deal that hadn't transpired.