Using gears to slow down - Happy Blue!
I think it has now been established that using the gears in a manual car to slow down is out of date and is a driving test failure. Something to do with it being cheaper to replace a brake pad than a clutch plate.

I don't drive manuals these days but when I drive rental cars which are manual, I still slow down through the gears because I feel it gives me more control, especially if I need to speed up again quickly. It how I was taught in the early 1980s as well.

Anyway, there was a post here recently which said that the whole transmission system was subject to far greater stresses if the through the gears method is used. Maybe, maybe not.

However, even though I drive an auto, I still use the 'box to slow down, although the effect on my car (mildly turbo'ed) is less than in a manual.

Is this good or bad practice from a wear on the components perspective.

I don't care whether it is effective or not. I've been driving for 23 years and the chances of me changing habits now is limited.

--
Espada III - well if you have a family and need a Lamborghini, what else do you drive?
Using gears to slow down - Altea Ego
"I drive an auto, I still use the 'box to slow down"

what method do you use to do that?
Using gears to slow down - Dynamic Dave
RF,

I do the same as Espada. On my previous auto Vectra and Cavalier I pressed the "S" button to drop the gearbox into 3rd, and on steep hills I often moved the autostick to the 2 position for maximum engine braking.

My lastest Vectra auto has the best of both worlds; I can either leave it in auto, or move the stick across into the "Active Select facility" and it becomes a manual gearbox.
Using gears to slow down - Roly93