Dream car or Budget, which comes first? Tell us your thoughts | No thanks

Volkswagen Passat (2005 - 2011)

5
reviewed by melvyn carter on 13 April 2019
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by PeterPan55 on 31 March 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 February 2018
1
reviewed by Paul Corder on 15 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ray Brown on 15 July 2017
2
reviewed by Fintyflanagan on 20 August 2016
5
reviewed by Ace16 on 30 September 2015
2
reviewed by RebeccaDean on 20 March 2015
2
reviewed by max_gain on 14 June 2014
2
reviewed by sleepydoc on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Capt. Pugwash on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Capt. Pugwash on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by andycloquet on 9 April 2014
5
reviewed by davidt67 on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
1
reviewed by AL1974 on 17 November 2013
3
reviewed by mfenton on 2 November 2013
1
reviewed by mo athar on 26 April 2013
2
reviewed by nietzsche on 5 July 2012
2
reviewed by BigIan888 on 2 May 2012
1
reviewed by VinceK on 9 August 2011
1
reviewed by jonlivesey on 26 June 2011
3

Bluemotion 1.9

reviewed by stlee on 20 June 2011
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Practical Estate - Flawed Reliability.

I've been the custodian of two B6 Passat Estates, the first a 2.0 SE Diesel and now (due to the eco nutters and our Inland Revenue) a 1.9 Bluemotion.

Good Stuff - Fantastic load lugging ability, this and the service I've received from my local dealer are pretty much the reasons that I chose my 2nd B6. The handling is good for a large estate; there is ample rear legroom. Scheduled variable servicing is normally needed every 18-20k (though I'm not sure that this long between oil changes does anything for long term engine longevity - possibly to make the car more appealing to lease companies and blow the reliability once out of the manufacturers 3 year warranty?).

Bad Stuff - Like the MK5 Golf, I remember my first impressions of the B6 Passat were that it wasn't
as well built as the earlier model, in terms of trim & fittings both cars have had issues with rattles/seat foams breaking up etc. The metallic paint on the Bluemotion is opaque throughout both sides, noticed whilst it was still on the delivery truck. If the car was my own then I'd have refused it there & then!

Over the 65k the 2.0Tdi had a new clutch & DMF, the steering column update, two new stereos, two [STUPID!] handbrake switches, brake sensor, door loom, several ECU updates in an attempt to cure smoking, and a fuel pump. It never actually let me down though did go into limp home once in France, luckily cured by restarting. My step father bought it from the lease co, where it has since gone from 65 -> 100k; needing a MAF, cambelt & water pump, front wishbone bushes a battery and an EGR valve. In all, quite a list!

The Bluemotion so far (up to 53k), seat foam, clutch master cyl, o2 sensor, three alloy wheels (corrosion) - the clutch/DMF is now juddering, the dash rattles.

The car is woefully gutless on A-Road hills, or when loaded, or pulling out of junctions or when you need any gusto at all really - but okay (ish) on the Motorway. In a nutshell 1.9 and 105PS struggles in a car of this weight with anything other than a steady cruise.

2.0 ave MPG - 40
1.9 ave MPG - 45/50

I started looking at HJ to compare my experience with other owner reviews of the B6, as I'm trying to ditch the co car in favour of ppm so will be looking to buy. When you start considering the ownership experience one text, then the answer for me is a no. These cars have been more unreliable than the bread & butter company Vectras I had to choose from in the 90's - VW is supposed to be a premium brand.

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by p3t3rg on 3 August 2010
2
reviewed by pudge on 8 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,522–£35,620
Road TaxC–L
MPG28.1–64.2 mpg
Real MPG94.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car