Dream car or Budget, which comes first? Tell us your thoughts | No thanks

Volkswagen Passat (2005 - 2011)

5
reviewed by melvyn carter on 13 April 2019
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by PeterPan55 on 31 March 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 February 2018
1
reviewed by Paul Corder on 15 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ray Brown on 15 July 2017
2
reviewed by Fintyflanagan on 20 August 2016
5

R36 4MOTION 5dr Auto Estate

reviewed by Ace16 on 30 September 2015
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Brilliant; after 7 years and ~80000 miles it still drives like a sports car and has never had any reliability issues.

My requirement was to replace my '99 Volvo V70XC, so needed to be a large estate, 4wd, comfort, plenty of power and manual transmission. Test drove the 3.2l version with DSG and immediately fell in love with the car and the gearbox in particular. the R36 was just becoming available so for more power and sportier ride was worth waiting for.

It's lived up to the hype in every respect and never had any problems. The only work I've had apart from regular scheduled services was a damaged rear brake disk 1t 70000 miles, probably an external cause.

Drive is incredible, both in power delivery and handling, which for its size is great. Lots of alpine roads have been driven, winter and summer, and it's there that it really shines.

I'm reluctant to replace it, but if I had to it would be with the newer 3.6 model and the R-line package.

Report as offensive

2
reviewed by RebeccaDean on 20 March 2015
2
reviewed by max_gain on 14 June 2014
2
reviewed by sleepydoc on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Capt. Pugwash on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Capt. Pugwash on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by andycloquet on 9 April 2014
5
reviewed by davidt67 on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
1
reviewed by AL1974 on 17 November 2013
3
reviewed by mfenton on 2 November 2013
1
reviewed by mo athar on 26 April 2013
2
reviewed by nietzsche on 5 July 2012
2
reviewed by BigIan888 on 2 May 2012
1
reviewed by VinceK on 9 August 2011
1
reviewed by jonlivesey on 26 June 2011
3
reviewed by stlee on 20 June 2011
1
reviewed by p3t3rg on 3 August 2010
2
reviewed by pudge on 8 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,522–£35,620
Road TaxC–L
MPG28.1–64.2 mpg
Real MPG94.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by geordie33
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car