Dream car or Budget, which comes first? Tell us your thoughts | No thanks

Volkswagen Passat (2005 - 2011)

5
reviewed by melvyn carter on 13 April 2019
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by PeterPan55 on 31 March 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 February 2018
1
reviewed by Paul Corder on 15 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ray Brown on 15 July 2017
2
reviewed by Fintyflanagan on 20 August 2016
5
reviewed by Ace16 on 30 September 2015
2
reviewed by RebeccaDean on 20 March 2015
2
reviewed by max_gain on 14 June 2014
2

Highline 1.9 TDI Estate

reviewed by sleepydoc on 1 May 2014
2
Overall rating
2
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Complete disillusion in VW reliability and service

I thought I was a contented owner of a VW Passat, however when a £4 part failed I was left with a potential £7000 bill. At 5 years old with just over 65000 miles on the clock I would have expected this well looked after and regularly serviced car to last a few years more.
The oil pump failed due to the failure of a hexagonal shaft leading to complete engine seizure, what impact it has had on the clutch, gearbox and camshaft is unknown. All this occurred with no warning from either the dashboard warning lights or the engine performance, a loud ticking noise, followed very quickly by a loud bang followed by a completely seized engine - thanks for the heads up VW!
I was left with the option of having it repaired with a conservative estimate of £7000 depending on other drivetrain damage or take up the offer from our local mechanic of £1500 as a non runner. As it is the main family car and a bit shocked by its failure, mixed with a lack of trust in the motor, took the £1500. Especially as the cost of repair was close to the value of the car.
Taking into account the moderate mileage and the age of the car I contacted VW UK and local VW dealerships regarding the possibility of a goodwill contribution towards repair. It was a faint possibility but only if I paid for the car to be taken to one of their dealerships and only if I agreed to pay for a full strip down of the engine to find the fault - which my local freindly mechanic had already diagnosed - after which a report would be sent to VW for consideration. Total cost to me a further £500-600. After a little more questioning it transpired that none of the sevice managers had ever known of VW offering more than a paultry 10% for this kind of problem, the reason given - it was an 'old car' - 5yrs is now old according to VW and it was out of warranty.
Research suggests this is a far more common problem than VW are letting on and can affect a considerable range of models in the VAG group.
So I'm probably £5K out of pocket with no car, needless to say I'll be looking for another manufacturer offering a decent, lengthy warranty, they obviously have confidence in their product.
Now for the rest of the review, looking back on cost of ownership and previous service bills it became clear that over the years there had been a steady drip of faults that needed fixing, including the aircon compressor, the washer motor, parts of the rear suspension, windscreen wiper arm, electric locking mechanism, faulty door locks, electronic parking break sensor, electronic parking break switch, paint discolouration on the passanger door etc, did I own a donkey or is this the level of build we should now expect from VW? The lack of support from VW UK suggests the latter.
The drive was average, bordering on the lacklustre.
Fuel economy again was average
It was practical and a good load lugger for the family but the seats were a little firm for very long journeys, after a couple of hours you felt the need to stop.
However last week I had wheels and could ferry my children around and suddenly I'm looking for another car which I wasn't planning to do for another year or so and for which I've not bugeted.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Capt. Pugwash on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Capt. Pugwash on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by andycloquet on 9 April 2014
5
reviewed by davidt67 on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
1
reviewed by AL1974 on 17 November 2013
3
reviewed by mfenton on 2 November 2013
1
reviewed by mo athar on 26 April 2013
2
reviewed by nietzsche on 5 July 2012
2
reviewed by BigIan888 on 2 May 2012
1
reviewed by VinceK on 9 August 2011
1
reviewed by jonlivesey on 26 June 2011
3
reviewed by stlee on 20 June 2011
1
reviewed by p3t3rg on 3 August 2010
2
reviewed by pudge on 8 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,522–£35,620
Road TaxC–L
MPG28.1–64.2 mpg
Real MPG94.7%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by geordie33
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car