Is your car your pride and joy, or are you ready for a change? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Toyota iQ 2008

5
reviewed by steve hollyhead on 20 May 2018
4
reviewed by Richard1964 on 20 November 2016
1

1.0 VVTi 3dr Hatchback

reviewed by Peter Freeman on 20 September 2016
1
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Short wide car with great turning circle. Do not expect high mpg in real life driving. Some 2009 models have paint issues

My car a 2009 reg car finished in Pearlescent White colour.
It suffers from paint delaminating on the roof and top of side panels.
This is not a problem unique to my vehicle, many other people have reported this problem, but as far as I can tell only from 2009 registered cars and those with Pearlescent white paint finish.
Toyota have paid for respray of vehicles in 2015 as a goodwill gesture but are now saying there is a seven year limit on claims which means 2009 cars are too old to qualify when claims made in 2016
Not too sure I would buy another car from a manufacturer who is happy the paint falls off his cars after 5 years.

As a town runabout for 2 people it works well apart from fuel consumption which is only 48mpg, much lower than claimed by manufacturer. Doors are large which can be a benefit if moving elderly or disabled passengers but equally means you need to be careful opening them in narrow parking spaces.
Engine revs freely and you can easily accelerate off from traffic lights or accidently exceed speed limit on a flat motorway.
Hills are a different matter and the lack of power becomes very evident.
Overall easy to drive with slick gearbox.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by alz69er on 12 July 2016
4
reviewed by MarkDP on 18 August 2015
5
reviewed by CleanUpCars on 7 June 2015
1
reviewed by bananaman on 29 May 2015
4
reviewed by Darryl_uk on 16 October 2014
5
reviewed by xtrailmike on 14 February 2014
4
reviewed by dd1 on 6 February 2014
5
reviewed by countertenor on 11 March 2013
3
reviewed by Jeremy 123 on 25 October 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£11,100–£14,100
Road TaxA–C
MPG54.3–65.7 mpg
Real MPG85.1%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Mudsy Man
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car