Jaguar X-Type (2001 - 2009)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 July 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 August 2018
5
reviewed by Alan R Bibby on 9 August 2018
4

2.2 Diesel Sport Premium Auto Saloon

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 10 June 2018
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Relaxing Saloon

I bought this car used at 5 years old and 70.000 miles (2 owners, FSH) to be my new long distance daily cruiser. I kept the car for 18 months, in which time I added over 35.000 miles to the car, taking it to just under 110.000 before selling it.

I shall being with what I liked about the X-Type. For starters it was an extremely comfortable long distance cruiser that was fairly practical and good looking - always been a very big Jaguar fan. The interior was also a nice place to spend time. Also my car came with the luxury of satellite navigation, a lovely optional extra.

However, my X-Type was not perfect. The miles-per-gallon was about 40, which seems okay for an old 2200cc diesel saloon, but my 2006 320d Auto achieved 50 miles-per-gallon and felt much quicker.

The first issue emerge pretty early on, at 75.000 miles the Boot lock solenoid failed due to moisture ingress, which I got fixed at my JLR Specialist.

Then at around 83.000 miles the tracking went out so I got the car sorted for a decent price at a KwickFit. Whilst there I also got my air conditioning re-gassed as it still worked but felt a little weak.

The key also lost connection to the car and required reprogramming.

However the final issue came about at around 107.000 miles, which was a Diesel Particualte Filter (DPF) fault and left the car pretty much without power whilst I was on a long journey, about 60 miles away from home.

Overall, I liked the Jaguar X-Type and if you can put up with the small flaws then I would recommend it, if you want reliability then look at the Germans or Japanese.

However, I think I was mainly won over by the Jaguar charm and the fact they finally made a C Class/3 Series/A4 rival. Having owned all Mercedes-Benz/BMW/VW Group products in hindsight I have to say they are better cars.

But will I buy another Jaguar? Yes, 100 percent. Most likely an XF.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 February 2018
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
1
reviewed by Keith Marlow on 20 April 2017
5
reviewed by Bronan the Brobarian on 2 February 2017
3
reviewed by mrdamage on 30 November 2014
4
reviewed by Ghosty on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by henry1f on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by NHW on 29 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 December 2012
4
reviewed by d_taddei2 on 5 September 2012
5
reviewed by thomasg on 15 May 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£20,000–£31,800
Road TaxF–L
MPG27.5–50.0 mpg
Real MPG91.0%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car