Jaguar X-Type (2001 - 2009)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 July 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 August 2018
5
reviewed by Alan R Bibby on 9 August 2018
4
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 10 June 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 March 2018
5

3.0 V6 Sport Premium Saloon

reviewed by Anonymous on 19 February 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

brilliant car all round for how much i paid for it

I owned this car for 5-6 years and it’s been great. It’s a 3.0 sport manual, and I haven’t had a single problem with it. I bought the car with 55k on the clock and now it’s up to 80k. Great handling in all weathers, providing you have tread on your tyres. It’s not the fastest car on earth but pretty much matches my mate’s BMW 330 manual. It is two years newer than mine, with 30k extra on the clock. Overall I paid £1600 for my car and my mate paid nearly 4k for his BMW. If you’re like me, and like holding on to your hard earned cash, buy the Jaguar in a heartbeat.

My friends were a bit like “that’s an old man’s car, but now two of them own X Types as well - which is hilarious.

Ride can be a bit bumpy on crapy roads
Averaging 23-25 miles around town (I live in London).
Motorway sitting at 70 I’ll get around 37-39 mpg on a flat road.

Performance is pretty good for a heavy car. 0-60 just under 7 seconds and pulls very well through all the gears. It be great if it was a bit faster, but you can’t have everything can you ?

Also had a few comments over the years I’ve owned it, “that’s a nice looking car” blah blah blah.

Sounds nice when you open it up, it could be a bit louder but it’s a Jag, meant to be refined and not a chav motor.

Things I’ve had to replace or do to the car since I’ve owned it.

Oil
Tyres
Break pads
Suspension bushes .
That’s it !!!!

Great car and excellent value. I can’t comment what the jag dealerships like because I’ve never taken my car there. I have a couple of friends which are mechanics so I’m covered in that field.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
1
reviewed by Keith Marlow on 20 April 2017
5
reviewed by Bronan the Brobarian on 2 February 2017
3
reviewed by mrdamage on 30 November 2014
4
reviewed by Ghosty on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by henry1f on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by NHW on 29 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 December 2012
4
reviewed by d_taddei2 on 5 September 2012
5
reviewed by thomasg on 15 May 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£20,000–£31,800
Road TaxF–L
MPG27.5–50.0 mpg
Real MPG91.0%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car