What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Jaguar X-Type (2001 - 2009)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 August 2018
5
reviewed by Alan R Bibby on 9 August 2018
4
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 10 June 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 February 2018
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
1
reviewed by Keith Marlow on 20 April 2017
5
reviewed by Bronan the Brobarian on 2 February 2017
3

2.5 V6 SE Saloon

reviewed by mrdamage on 30 November 2014
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
How practical it is
1
Overall reliability

disappointing first drive

Bought this car with eager anticipation of owning a Jag, the guy sold it to me with a noisey DMF (Duall Mas Fly Wheel) saying it's ok drives ok just a little noisey when you put the clutch down, been like it for about a week, he played it down as nothing to drastic.
Not being mechanicaly minded I thought ok fair one should be ok for a while till I can get it looked at sometime in the future.
Well blow me down. I drove 10 miles if that and the clutch went. I was on my way to a friends garage luckily. He wasn't too happy when I told him.
Should have done my research A DMF alone on the £500 mark then clutch and slave cylinder £200, minimum 1-2 days in the garage for a dmf and clutch change. It's a big job on the awd as the whole front subframe and half the engine had to be dropped. A lot of garages give a big sigh. They don't like doing them as it's such a big job especiacialy if the subframe bolts have corroded as most will have.
So when buying a second hand x type awd check to find out if and when the dmf and clutch has been done as it's an expensive job and will probably cost more than the car is worth to repair.
Over a week on of owning the car and still waiting for it to be finished

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Ghosty on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by henry1f on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by NHW on 29 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 December 2012
4
reviewed by d_taddei2 on 5 September 2012
5
reviewed by thomasg on 15 May 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£20,000–£31,800
Road TaxF–L
MPG27.5–50.0 mpg
Real MPG91.2%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Patrick Brockett
5
submitted by S pursey
2
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car