Which products have made it into the Honest John Kit gift guides for Christmas 2019? You'll be surprised... | No thanks

Jaguar X-Type (2001 - 2009)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 August 2018
5
reviewed by Alan R Bibby on 9 August 2018
4
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 10 June 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 February 2018
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Mel price on 14 September 2017
4

2.5 V6 SE Auto AWD Saloon

reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Great Ford engine matched to a Jap 5 speed auto box gives comfortable ride, good performance and the electrics work!

I didn't expect too much from a 14 year old car with 125K on the clock. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The ride is good on the variable road surfaces around rural Lincolnshire; firm yet not too hard. Handling is good and acceleration in both standard and sport modes is more than adequate. Fuel consumption is coming out at 30 mpg over a mixture of road and journey types. Remember there are not many M ways in coastal Lincs.

The body required sills and brake pipes and components replacing for an MoT pass. Spares were cheap. The body is in excellent condition and the mechanics too. A service and all is well. The drivers seat was showing signs of wear due to 14 years of use but a kit from the Furniture Factory provided everything I needed to return the seat to new condition and it now matches the other Dove Grey upholstery interior of the car.

I am very please with a car that cost me a thousand notes and to have sold on my 3 year old Fiat 500 TwinAir. The extra cash sits nicely in my ISA earning a little interest which will help pay the extra costs involved with running the X Type: Road Tax £300 instead of £0, fuel at 30 mpg rather than 46 mpg. Insurance no different at my age (70). I estimate it will cost me £10 a week to run the X Type over the 500. However, I now look forward to driving and still have the wife's Micra if I want to pop up the road or to the local shop.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by RevRog on 18 July 2017
1
reviewed by Keith Marlow on 20 April 2017
5
reviewed by Bronan the Brobarian on 2 February 2017
3
reviewed by mrdamage on 30 November 2014
4
reviewed by Ghosty on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by henry1f on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by NHW on 29 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 December 2012
4
reviewed by d_taddei2 on 5 September 2012
5
reviewed by thomasg on 15 May 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£20,000–£31,800
Road TaxF–L
MPG27.5–50.0 mpg
Real MPG91.1%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Patrick Brockett
5
submitted by S pursey
2
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car