BMW 3 Series Touring (2012 - 2019)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 February 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 December 2020
2
reviewed by Nigel Cottrell on 6 November 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 August 2020
2

320d Luxury 184 Auto 5dr

reviewed by Anonymous on 6 July 2020
2
Overall rating
3
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
2
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Aggressively cost-engineered - designed without enthusiasm or generosity

I bought one of these in excellent condition for my wife, from a prominent Glasgow dealer in ex-lease vehicles with 65k miles for export to Ireland. The only defect on collection was a warped brake disk which I accepted.
The mileage today is 120k. Reliability has been good, and average economy has been around 47 mpg in mixed rural-motorway driving. My wife regards the car as she would a fridge. Personally I hate driving it. My training as a product design engineer colours my judgement. The many interlocks around engaging drive (door closed, foot on brake, release of a special button on the selector) are nannying and unnecessary. Noise insulation is not that good. The car has standard leather trimmed seats which have flat squabs and appear to be designed to be as average as possible. The standard-fit halogen headlamps have poor projection on full beam and cannot be adjusted for EU driving. Some of the main switchgear (indicators and cruise) have multiple modes combined with poorly-calibrated and/or de-bounced switch points making operation erratic. The engine/gearbox has a lot of lag during launch followed by lunging, except in Eco mode which provides for second or third gear starts. And the standard-fit telematics - a tiny screen, plastic mouse wheel, and little useful information was so obviously knobbled by the product managers that I felt I had to retrofit the current version in its place.

Underneath and underbonnet, electropainted steel parts dominate over aluminium ones and value-engineering is much in evidence. The lack of a spare tyre and retail pricing policy for runflats made a change to regular tyres and a spacesaver a wise move for long drives across the EU. The damping of the car lacks progression and when the bump stops intrude they do so with a bang.

This car was engineered with upgrade-begging in mind. The standard telematics are decades behind what is offered by a smartphone and the sound is poor. The headlamps are marginally better than dangerous. The unheated front seats and poor sound demand upgrade. But why bother - the poor auto-wipers, aggressive engine cut-out and sluggish auto-restart and poorly-calibrated launching of the car tell a story of limited engineering development hours. This car was conceived and developed without passion.

To cap that, durability concerns about a known design defect related to spline wear in the 4WD transfer box and the uninspiring engine note make exploration of the performance available, which is decent, uninviting. This car is no scaled-down 5-series Touring (I've had three) or E-class Estate. Avoid!

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 June 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 April 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 April 2020
5
reviewed by Peter J Longmate on 8 February 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 November 2019
5
reviewed by AlWoo on 3 October 2019
1
reviewed by castrol on 9 January 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 November 2018
4
reviewed by David Eddell on 9 November 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
5
reviewed by RobJP on 27 February 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 February 2018
5
reviewed by Oldcooperman on 8 January 2018
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 January 2018
5
reviewed by Andrew Howes on 2 July 2017
5
reviewed by RobJP on 21 February 2017
4
reviewed by boxheater on 28 October 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 September 2016
3
reviewed by castrol on 4 January 2016
5
reviewed by RobJP on 17 December 2015
5
reviewed by DavidW842 on 23 October 2015
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 April 2015
4
reviewed by Leicester Stig on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Dick Evans on 15 February 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
1
reviewed by Michael21 on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Leicester Stig on 28 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 October 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£25,570–£46,975
Road TaxB–J
MPG34.9–65.7 mpg
Real MPG82.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Miniman777
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car