BMW 3 Series Coupe (2006 - 2012)

5
reviewed by symonh on 31 January 2021
5
reviewed by Amir Tariq on 7 December 2020
4
reviewed by barca on 12 July 2020
5
reviewed by gordon shaw on 1 May 2019
5
reviewed by jim edgar on 23 February 2018
3
reviewed by _G_ on 24 February 2017
4
reviewed by pds1 on 17 February 2016
5
reviewed by ProjectDarkStar on 23 July 2015
3
reviewed by Tipz on 16 August 2014
4
reviewed by BMWREVIEW on 7 May 2014
2
reviewed by timsandford on 16 December 2013
5
reviewed by KR64 on 28 October 2013
3
reviewed by stheodotou on 21 May 2012
5

330d SE

reviewed by Car Catctcher on 19 April 2011
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

You may see a few coupes around, but there is a good reason for it.

I have now had my E92 330d for over 3 years and completed 68,000 miles. I buy cars for people for a living, so I get to drive everything including the odd DB9 etc. I still think this is this best thing around and would buy another tomorrow if it were not were for the fact mine is still as good as new.
My car has an unusual spec. manual box with prof. nav. telematics, sports leather seats,folding mirrors, dreaded 19 inch alloys and automatic lights to name a few options. It cost £42,000 new and now would trade at around £12k. It must be the second hand bargain.
I appreaciate all things relating to speed are relative, however I would venture to say it still feels very fast. with superb in gear overtaking ability. Whats not to like about 0-60 in 6.5 seconds. Average MPG is 42 which for a car of this pace, is only surpassed by the newer models with efficient dynamics. No whines,knocks squeaks or rattles, just superb.
First set of boots lasted 28,000 miles, and that is driven enthusiastically, so not as heavy as some commentators might have you believe. I destroyed one alloy, replaced from ebay at a cost of £120. The first I knew about it was a slow puncture which showed up on the automatic tyre pressure sensor as air was leaking through the hairline crack. BMW not interested.
Ride is superb, just watch out for potholes. Bit like being a motorcyclist in that regard.
Metallic black paint is still superb, gets waxed every few months and lives outside. Divers seat bolster leather needs blacking out every now and again but still in excellent condition.
Build quality out of this world, only issue In have had is 2 worn suspension bushes caused by our poor Fenland roads, the parts were less than £90.
So much is excellent about these cars that much gets overlooked. For example the front discs are original with pads lasting me 60,000 miles, I really use the excellent brakes, massive front discs are superb. Strong cam chain engine which is just so well engineered. I regularly see ex police 530ds sell at the sales with mileages exceeding 250,000 and super sounding engines.
All the ancillary switches are still like new and in all I cannot praise these cars quality high enough, especially for the price.
In summary, I have friends with faster cars but the bills are so large the do not get enjoyed as much. The biggest joke must be either my friend with a 54 Maserati 4.2 V8, who averages 11 mpg and gets service bills that you would not believe or maybe my other friend with a 59 plate Nissan Skyline who has lost 20k in depreciation over 9,000 miles, 2 services a one £2k set of tyres! That would take any fun out od it for me.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by rpa on 30 September 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,055–£42,195
Road TaxD–K
MPG31.0–60.1 mpg
Real MPG79.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car