BMW 3 Series Coupe (2006 - 2012)

5
reviewed by symonh on 31 January 2021
5
reviewed by Amir Tariq on 7 December 2020
4
reviewed by barca on 12 July 2020
5
reviewed by gordon shaw on 1 May 2019
5
reviewed by jim edgar on 23 February 2018
3
reviewed by _G_ on 24 February 2017
4
reviewed by pds1 on 17 February 2016
5
reviewed by ProjectDarkStar on 23 July 2015
3
reviewed by Tipz on 16 August 2014
4
reviewed by BMWREVIEW on 7 May 2014
2

335i M Sport Highline Coupe

reviewed by timsandford on 16 December 2013
2
Overall rating
3
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Unreliable, expensive and proof that BMW is going downhill

This is the ninth BMW that I have owned and it is by far and away the worst car I have ever owned in terms of reliability, cost and service from any manufacturer, let alone BMW, who I previously rated extremely highly.

I have a clean driving licence and drive only on motorways and A roads - you'll see why this is important later on.

In the three years since I have owned the car the faults I have had to have fixed include:
- complete replacement of all the fuel injectors
- complete replacement of the turbos
- replacement of the radiator and a series of hoses
- replacement of 3 alloy wheels after they failed - cracked
- Endless faults with the computer that BMW technicians are unable to identify and as a result cannot be rectified.

The car was bought through the BMW dealer network and under warranty, but getting BMW to accept responsibility for anything has been extremely difficult and tiresome.

The wheel failures are particularly alarming and on researching the problem online, I have discovered that this is a relatively common problem and potential owners should in my view be extremely careful to ensure that the wheels on the vehicle are safe and do meet the required standards and are not cracked or in danger of cracking. The reason I mentioned my license and roads, was that BMW suggested that perhaps I should drive on better roads and change my driving.

I also have a friend who has a Jaguar XK that has better fuel economy.

When it is working, it drives well though not brilliantly with traction control that gets in the way in less than perfect conditions.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by KR64 on 28 October 2013
3
reviewed by stheodotou on 21 May 2012
5
reviewed by Car Catctcher on 19 April 2011
5
reviewed by rpa on 30 September 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,055–£42,195
Road TaxD–K
MPG31.0–60.1 mpg
Real MPG79.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car