BMW 3 Series Coupe (2006 - 2012)

5
reviewed by symonh on 31 January 2021
5
reviewed by Amir Tariq on 7 December 2020
4
reviewed by barca on 12 July 2020
5
reviewed by gordon shaw on 1 May 2019
5
reviewed by jim edgar on 23 February 2018
3
reviewed by _G_ on 24 February 2017
4
reviewed by pds1 on 17 February 2016
5

330i SE 2dr Coupe

reviewed by ProjectDarkStar on 23 July 2015
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Good ol Beemer

I've bought this in 2011 used with 68k on the clock. It served me well for 4 years.
Having the old port injected N52 engine it was 100% reliable.
Engine is powerful, smooth and sounds really, really good. You just want to rev it to make it sing.
E92s are comfortable, the seats (I had sport seats) very supportive. Interior good enough for 4 people to travel in (thanks to being just another version of 3 series). Ironically, there's more space in the back of 3 series coupe than in Audi A4 saloon/estate...
Gear change is good but the throw is a bit long. Gearing is slightly odd. 5th too close to 6th and both should be longer. 5th only really good for 40mph.
The car handles superbly. Bridgestone runflats are not as bad as people say - I found them performing superbly in all conditions (including snow). I mean if you try to take a hairpin bend at 100mph in the wet you're out but for normal fast road use they are fine - and extremely hard wearing! Rears lasted 30k!
I was shocked with economy. On a 2/3 M-way 1/3 town/b-road I was getting 32-33mpg. In town it drops like a rock to low 20s but on M-way you can do 40+. If you drive like a granny at 50mph it'll do 50+mpg!
Car is very well built and holds well even past 100k mark. Road noise is a bit loud though.
As for negatives - oddly enough driving position is off. The steering wheel (excellent in other aspects) is off center compared to the seat. I think its ever so slightly to the right. RWD means transmission protrudes into the cabin and all pedals are really close to each other. Wider shoes can press clutch and break at the same time easily.

All in all this is a coupe that sits 4, has a boot of a 3 series saloon, handles like a dream and can easily be used as a daily drive.
I've had it for 4 years and it never needed anything but service items. Oil, filters, spark plugs. That's it.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by Tipz on 16 August 2014
4
reviewed by BMWREVIEW on 7 May 2014
2
reviewed by timsandford on 16 December 2013
5
reviewed by KR64 on 28 October 2013
3
reviewed by stheodotou on 21 May 2012
5
reviewed by Car Catctcher on 19 April 2011
5
reviewed by rpa on 30 September 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,055–£42,195
Road TaxD–K
MPG31.0–60.1 mpg
Real MPG79.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car