Toyota Corolla Verso (2004 - 2009)

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 June 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 May 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 November 2017
4
reviewed by Paul Taylor on 2 October 2016
5
reviewed by mark Bu on 14 August 2015
5
reviewed by mark Bu on 27 January 2014
1
reviewed by LorrinB on 20 March 2013
2
reviewed by bulkedward on 10 November 2012
4

Verso 1.8 VVT TR

reviewed by TWOCARDAD on 30 April 2011
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Excellent all rounder family car with the petrol engine version being our best choice.

Bought the car new September 2008 for my wife. 1.8 VVT TR.
Got a good very deal for a vehicle the Toyota dealer had in stock. No part-ex and the looming economic conditions helped.

Tried the diesel engine version but vibration and noise meant we chose the 1.8 petrol version. The petrol version is relatively smoother, more silent and no vibration.
Apart from week-end long journeys, it is used mostly for the school run and supermarkets and my wife’s WVRS trips. It has covered 33k miles from new (April 2011).
The Verso is our second car, we also have a new Audi A4 2.0 TDI 143 SE. We eventually used the Verso over the Audi as our family week-end car.

Fuel cost is good. Cruising motorways at a steady 70 MPH it averages 41 MPG and more when my wife drives. Round town it delivers between 34-37 MPG. Hard acceleration however reduces this figure.
With petrol cheaper than diesel, lower servicing cost and very low purchase price, the car has proven to be a good economic decision that is also nicer to drive over the diesel Verso.

The Verso has proven to be an excellent versatile choice. Good for trips to/from universities for my two older children with all their stuff. Good for short runs. Last Christmas it easily took 6 large adults, two dogs and all the presents on a 40 mile journey home. Easy to drive, comfortable and good handling. Easy access and egress.
Considering the bumpy roads and pot holes where we live, its suspension and seats gave a more comfortable ride than the Audi A4. Consequently, we can average higher speeds on our twisty A and B roads. The Audi is faster, more exciting but of little benefit on roads where over-taking is impossible and max safe speed is 50 MPH. With extra capacity and more comfort, the Verso won over on the A4 which seats just four adults.

There have been a few problems. The fuel gauge is not linear. When indicating quarter full the tank is nearly empty but the range is more than twice as far from full to three quarters full.
The brakes “clunk” when first puling away after reversing.
Heavy scoring of brake discs caused replacement under warranty at first the year’s service. No issues with the dealer.
New front tyres at 28k miles.
Turning circle could be benefit from being tighter.

We have decided to keep the Verso for at least another three years.
Run it as our second car, having decided to replace the company car (Audi) with a Toyota Prius.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by markburnsw on 3 December 2010
4
reviewed by AKZ on 6 September 2010
3
reviewed by d_onions on 14 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,890–£21,640
Road TaxG–I
MPG36.7–45.6 mpg
Real MPG94.2%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car