Toyota Corolla Verso (2004 - 2009)

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 June 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 May 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 November 2017
4
reviewed by Paul Taylor on 2 October 2016
5
reviewed by mark Bu on 14 August 2015
5
reviewed by mark Bu on 27 January 2014
1
reviewed by LorrinB on 20 March 2013
2
reviewed by bulkedward on 10 November 2012
4
reviewed by TWOCARDAD on 30 April 2011
4

2.2D SR

reviewed by markburnsw on 3 December 2010
4
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Surprisingly good!

Bought this to replace my wifes Golf, due to an expanding family.

We were considering a RAV, and saw this in the forecourt, and was impressed after a test-drive. Despite the 3 feet of Scottish snow, its been ploughing through it no problems on new tyres (albeit, ahem, snow tyres).

Good Points:
Huge amount of space inside. Alsolutely carnivorous.
Great engine, really 'torquey', and pulls along really well. Its pretty nippy as well and crusies nicely at a steady speed.
Dash layout is clear and straighforward. Kit is pretty good on the SR, and this one has a couple of additionals - heated seats, pop up tables etc. Also looks sharp, nice alloys and tinted windows etc.
Getting 45mpg (even around country roads) with decent Esso diesel.
Good driving position, good visibility. Really (surprisingly) Superb handling!
Much better value than a 58plate 2.0D Touran, which was its main contender in this household.

Bad Points:
Feels a bit 'tinny' when closing doors etc - thats compared to the Touran and previous Golf. If it wasnt for the 5star NCAP, I'd be worried.
Windscreen washers are complelty frozen, and its impossible to defrost (they're exposed to the wind at the bottom of the windscreen).
Does take a while to heat up inside - but thats mainly due to it being a diesel.
Its not as 'comfortable' inside as the Megane Senic we looked at (armrests a bit short, cubby holes and storage boxes), and perhaps not as 'solid' feeling as the S-Max or Touran.
The driving position can make you feel like you're driving a van.
Parking sensors didn't work upon delivery - fixed under warranty.
Edinburgh dealer tried to rip me off with a 57plate, 40k miles for 13k. HAHAHA Got a 58plate with 20kmiles from a dealer nr.London, for a grand less (inc. delivery).

Summary:
This is growing on me. Last 3 of my wifes cars were A3s, and my own is an A4, so this is a departure fromt he German stable. As such it doesn't have the "sounds like a Golf" clunk going on, (also I keep fogetting it doesnt have auto-headlights, and keep leaving them on...), and it does feel a little dated in the cabin.
However it does handle like a Golf! I've been throwing it into corners, that the Golf could take, but the A4 can't, and the Verso comes out the other side wondering what the fuss was about!
This is proving to be a good all rounder, and is definitely growing on me.
Hey, Toyota, do a 4x4 version, and its a winner!

I admit, I've only had it 6weeks, so will update this review in the Spring!

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by AKZ on 6 September 2010
3
reviewed by d_onions on 14 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,890–£21,640
Road TaxG–I
MPG36.7–45.6 mpg
Real MPG94.2%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car