What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Nissan X-Trail (2001 - 2007)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 May 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 January 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 September 2017
1
reviewed by ED731PDH on 29 March 2015
5
reviewed by itdave on 7 August 2014
5
reviewed by Falkirk Bairn on 28 October 2012
5

2.2 dCi Aventura 5dr 4 X 4

reviewed by xtrailturton on 15 June 2012
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Practical & Great Fun

We were forced into replacing our 2005 Volvo XC70 because the 5-speed auto 'box decided to fail! Not what I would have expected, but talking to an independent auto gearbox specialist, it is a "common problem" especially if you tow with an XC70. Never picked up on that one and nothing in any reviews about such issues.

So, we had to act quickly because once we had been told that it wasn't a software problem (and £2,500 to fix it) we only had 3 weeks before our next caravan trip. We looked at Citroen C4s, Peugeot 508s and others, and we looked at Vianos, but we really wanted to keep with 4WD (we live rurally and we also tow). We didn't want a Discovery (not at 20mpg) or anything too big. To cut a long story short we considered the X-Trail and, after test driving a few, we wish that we had missed out the Volvo purchase and gone straight to Nissan!

Having had the car for just a few weeks, I would (at this point) very much recommend this vehicle. It is very lively and will cruise all day at 85 (you can still easily hold a conversation although it is noisier than the Volvo) and it is returning encouraging MPG figures. I like the fact that it isn't trying to make statement about who you are, as with other, larger 4x4s, but it is quietly capable.

The leather interior and the fittings all feel to be solid and high quality. The driving position in commanding and the A pillars don't really get in the way. However, one of the best features is the reclining REAR seats. I emphasise this because so few cars have this feature and with two boys (7 and 9 years) they do nod off on longer journeys and it is great for them to recline when they shut their eyes. I didn't even realise this until we had purchased the vehicle!

On the towing front, it pulls out 1180KG Lunar very well, but I did notice that when pushing it a little too hard on a long, slow hill that the temperature gauge did rise quite quickly. That said, when i eased off and we had reached the top the gauge returned to 'normal'. I put this issue completely down to user stupidity rather than an inherent problem when towing.

Overall, easy to drive, lots of features, plenty of space and a good sound system. I am surprised that Freelanders dominate this sector (or so it seems) when there is such a great alternative.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Chrisdy on 16 September 2011
5
reviewed by harry carlisle on 29 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£16,995–£23,395
Road TaxK–L
MPG30.1–37.7 mpg
Real MPG95.3%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by davethesteam
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car