What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Nissan Qashqai (2014 on)

5
reviewed by Hayes on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Alan Coulson on 16 March 2019
3
reviewed by Iain Haigh on 11 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 February 2019
5
reviewed by JJwoodford on 4 October 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2018
3
reviewed by IrishNeil on 14 July 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 July 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 May 2018
4
reviewed by dan86 on 7 May 2018
4
reviewed by Pendleman on 26 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 March 2018
2
reviewed by Stuart Dobbs on 4 March 2018
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 28 February 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
2

1.5 dCi 110 N-Connecta 5dr SUV

reviewed by Anonymous on 8 February 2018
2
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Expensive car built down to a cost

I was drawn to this car because of a perceived quality image of Nissan over the years. I did my homework and research and decided to lease this car over 3 years. Never again - I'm trapped in a poorly built and poorly conceived car !
In summary :
It feels like the Qashqai just about meets its design intents !!! It has headlights ( incandescent bulbs ) that barely illuminate the road. It has a horn more befitting a child's toy car. The heater on the diesel takes at least 25 miles to heat up satisfactorily , and then it is hard to control , its either hot or warm .
Build quality - POOR - dash rattles every where , air filter rattles , bonnet rattles , drivers door trim creaks , drivers seat creaks , steering wheel creaks , glove box rattles , a vibrating noise between 1500 and 2000rpm in every gear a drivers side seat belt mechanism that knocks on left hand turns , etc etc etc.The drivers wiper blade decided to split along most of its length within 12 months , and I never allow the blades to become frozen to the screen. The last time I saw this happen was on a really old and neglected car - not a new one !!
To date , the dealer has failed to permanently rectify any of these issues.
Brake discs changed at 24000 miles and numerous trim parts but still the problems persist.
All this from Junior German car money without the quality of said cars.

The positives : its comfortable , fairly economical , very good on tyres ( still original at 30000 miles and not to the wear bars yet ) and quiet.

Is it worth the popularity and price tag , well yes if you don't mind a car that's built of shoddy materials and are tolerant of a lot of unwanted noise from an expensive car like this is.. Personally I wouldn't bother again.
And in case you thought it was all me ..... my partner has the same car but a petrol model and it exhibits almost all the same problems , as did the 4 loan cars that the dealer kindly lent me.
As the dealers don't get paid by Nissan to cure and rectify rattles etc , then they don't often receive feedback in terms of warranty claims , so they just keep building the same problems into all their cars.
I contacted Nissan Customer Services , and they are just not interested .
Its a good car that's really let down by its basic build quality , and minimal design intent.

Report as offensive

2
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 January 2018
2
reviewed by Alexander Kirkby on 1 November 2017
5
reviewed by Steve Thom on 7 October 2017
4
reviewed by Michael Mellors on 1 October 2017
4
reviewed by Ron Gregory on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Steve Whitehead on 10 September 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 August 2017
4
reviewed by A Chopra on 4 June 2017
4
reviewed by G Jones on 6 May 2017
1
reviewed by daf on 3 May 2017
1
reviewed by duncho on 26 April 2017
3
reviewed by tequila on 28 December 2016
1
reviewed by Michael Adrepos on 2 November 2016
5
reviewed by Stuart somerville on 3 October 2016
3
reviewed by Clothcap on 19 August 2016
4
reviewed by Thringo on 28 June 2016
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 April 2016
5
reviewed by johnboy50 on 9 April 2016
2
reviewed by hepburn on 13 March 2016
1
reviewed by hepburn on 11 March 2016
4
reviewed by BigEgyptian on 4 December 2015
2
reviewed by Poor Nissan Customer Service on 13 September 2015
4
reviewed by Gaoler1234 on 11 August 2015
5
reviewed by Mihkel on 21 May 2015
1
reviewed by timothyskinner on 5 May 2015
3
reviewed by puddleduck on 17 April 2015
4
reviewed by NissanQQ14 on 2 March 2015
5
reviewed by hdr777 on 7 February 2015
5
reviewed by hdr777 on 7 February 2015
4
reviewed by Manta on 10 January 2015
4
reviewed by napron on 19 December 2014
4
reviewed by Meldrewman on 16 December 2014
4
reviewed by WillFos on 27 November 2014
1
reviewed by WillFos on 2 May 2014
5
reviewed by old norm on 1 May 2014

Write your review

About this car

Price£21,595–£28,495
Road TaxA–G
MPG47.1–74.3 mpg
Real MPG79.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by davethesteam
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car