What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Nissan Qashqai (2014 on)

5
reviewed by Hayes on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Alan Coulson on 16 March 2019
3
reviewed by Iain Haigh on 11 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 February 2019
5
reviewed by JJwoodford on 4 October 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2018
3
reviewed by IrishNeil on 14 July 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 July 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 May 2018
4
reviewed by dan86 on 7 May 2018
4
reviewed by Pendleman on 26 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 March 2018
2
reviewed by Stuart Dobbs on 4 March 2018
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 28 February 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 February 2018
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 January 2018
2
reviewed by Alexander Kirkby on 1 November 2017
5
reviewed by Steve Thom on 7 October 2017
4
reviewed by Michael Mellors on 1 October 2017
4
reviewed by Ron Gregory on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Steve Whitehead on 10 September 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 August 2017
4
reviewed by A Chopra on 4 June 2017
4
reviewed by G Jones on 6 May 2017
1
reviewed by daf on 3 May 2017
1

1.6 dCi 130 Tekna Xtronic 5dr SUV

reviewed by duncho on 26 April 2017
1
Overall rating
4
How it drives
1
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

The car was not ready to be sold to masses yet

Nissan - Launched the 2014 Nissan Qashqai with the fresh look, the adverts published with enthusiasm, but Nissan promises died on TV screen.

Since I own this car, it has been repaired 24 times by now by various EU dealers. Short overview of issues that were reported to be fixed:
- Rear wiper washer self activation not fixed (dealer needed 1 week for fix, with no courtesy car provided!! I denied to bring it in).
- Nissan Connect update from C018 to D024 - solved ECO History
- Nissan Connect continuously freezing and self restarting - firmware update D024 to D053
- CVT transmission belt slipping under harder acceleration. I insisted dealer on checking CVT fluid for debris from pulleys in order to identify worn pulley/ belt due to slipping CVT belt. It was denied by a dealer with the comment "unless I pay for the labour and CVT fluid"
- Hiccup / hesitation issue when car is driven on light throttle - ECM update (issue still persists if engine is cold and car is driven slightly uphill on light throttle)
- Wind noise from wing mirrors - fixed
- Wing mirrors adjustment control switch doesn't work - replaced
- Reported faulty FIAMM battery (car left me out in in freezing weather in mid of nowhere at -10'C with 2 little kids. I had to wait 2 hours in freezing weather for help to jump start the car.
- the dealer did not want to confirm faulty battery as they did not follow Nissan requirement (WBUL 15/12) and used old diagnostic device EXP-1625, which is not suitable for carrying out diagnostics of FEB accumulators. The dealer didn't know that when I told him that this device must not be used, but INSPECT-625.
- misaligned tailgate, which dealer "fixed" by moving hook lock aside, which caused closing the tailgate really difficult!
- Faulty FIAMM battery replaced
- CVT TCM updated fixed which has fixed CVT belt slipping
- Nissan Connect continuously freezing and self restarting - firmware update D053 to D205
- Self activating front parking sensors
- Noisy steering (spiral spring + suspension)
- Nissan Connect issues & menu bugs
- Condensation in right wing mirror AVM kamera - replaced
- Car left for 1 week diagnostics, dealer incapable to reperform any of reported issues, bringing the car for 1 week was pointless. I video reported 3 issues to NSCEE right after I left the dealership. Videos were sent immediately while driving from a dealer. Insulting behavior of dealer employee (recorded on dashcam - sent complain to NSCEE)
- DAB radio dropping, faulty antenna base, car left for 1 day diagnostics
- Front parking sensors always ON - front parking sensors covers drilled - issue persisting, sent video to dealer - https://youtu.be/0M0o-Sn0lqI
- Falling tailgate https://youtu.be/B7sx9o4neMc - gas struts replaced
- Squeezing driver's seat became to be dangerously loose while driving - replaced seat frame
- Campaign PG6BF - rear wheel arch secured
- Chassis Control System Fault
- Nissan Connect audio drops - firmware update D302 to D502
- Manual up-gear shifting on CVT - https://youtu.be/--G_OlSZ5WM 
- Front axle loud making knocking noise
- Noise from engine bay when steering left / driving downhill
- Squeezing steering - spiral spring replaced
- System Fault - rear parking sensors AVM camera had to be re-calibrated
- faulty rear right interior light
- update of ECM (hiccups), TCM (up-gear shifting problem), IPDM-E (insufficient battery charging problem) etc etc...

The car ran out of the warranty last week and I'm not confident to keep this bad luck for any longer. My complaints addressed to Nissan Sales CEE were not responded for more than 9 months even if I escalated the case for several times. I involved my lawyer and it didn't help either. I wrote an email to Nissan CEO, Marketing department, Customer care, etc. and that email wasn't responded either. The car is joy to drive when it runs, but....

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by tequila on 28 December 2016
1
reviewed by Michael Adrepos on 2 November 2016
5
reviewed by Stuart somerville on 3 October 2016
3
reviewed by Clothcap on 19 August 2016
4
reviewed by Thringo on 28 June 2016
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 April 2016
5
reviewed by johnboy50 on 9 April 2016
2
reviewed by hepburn on 13 March 2016
1
reviewed by hepburn on 11 March 2016
4
reviewed by BigEgyptian on 4 December 2015
2
reviewed by Poor Nissan Customer Service on 13 September 2015
4
reviewed by Gaoler1234 on 11 August 2015
5
reviewed by Mihkel on 21 May 2015
1
reviewed by timothyskinner on 5 May 2015
3
reviewed by puddleduck on 17 April 2015
4
reviewed by NissanQQ14 on 2 March 2015
5
reviewed by hdr777 on 7 February 2015
5
reviewed by hdr777 on 7 February 2015
4
reviewed by Manta on 10 January 2015
4
reviewed by napron on 19 December 2014
4
reviewed by Meldrewman on 16 December 2014
4
reviewed by WillFos on 27 November 2014
1
reviewed by WillFos on 2 May 2014
5
reviewed by old norm on 1 May 2014

Write your review

About this car

Price£21,595–£28,495
Road TaxA–G
MPG47.1–74.3 mpg
Real MPG79.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by davethesteam
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car