What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Nissan Qashqai 2014

5
reviewed by Hayes on 7 May 2019
4
reviewed by Alan Coulson on 16 March 2019
3
reviewed by Iain Haigh on 11 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 March 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 February 2019
5
reviewed by JJwoodford on 4 October 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2018
3
reviewed by IrishNeil on 14 July 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 July 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 May 2018
4
reviewed by dan86 on 7 May 2018
4
reviewed by Pendleman on 26 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 March 2018
2
reviewed by Stuart Dobbs on 4 March 2018
3
reviewed by S91S91 on 28 February 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 February 2018
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 January 2018
2
reviewed by Alexander Kirkby on 1 November 2017
5
reviewed by Steve Thom on 7 October 2017
4
reviewed by Michael Mellors on 1 October 2017
4
reviewed by Ron Gregory on 14 September 2017
4
reviewed by Steve Whitehead on 10 September 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 August 2017
4
reviewed by A Chopra on 4 June 2017
4
reviewed by G Jones on 6 May 2017
1
reviewed by daf on 3 May 2017
1
reviewed by duncho on 26 April 2017
3
reviewed by tequila on 28 December 2016
1
reviewed by Michael Adrepos on 2 November 2016
5
reviewed by Stuart somerville on 3 October 2016
3

1.2 Dig-T Tekna Xtronic 5dr SUV

reviewed by Clothcap on 19 August 2016
3
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Lovely car to drive but needs more power for the open road

I bought the Qashqai because i wanted a raised seating position for ease of access and, at the time, the motoring press generally found it to be the best crossover.

I bought the 1.2 petrol as my annual mileage of 8000 miles does not justify a diesel. I chose the auto gear box for relaxed urban driving (about 80% of my mileage).

I opted for 17" wheels instead of 19" as (a) the ride is softer, (b) the VED is lower, (c) there is less likelihood of kerbing the alloys there being more tyre wall flexibility and (d) the normal profile tyres last longer than low profile tyres. I also opted for a proper spare wheel as I don't trust the provided aerosol.

The car has done 6000 miles including trips to Wales and all over Scotland. It has ample torque for suburban driving but lacks power for motorway overtaking. It does, however, cruise happily at an indicated 75mph. The engine works hard on long steep hills.

Economy: I get 35mpg around town and 45 on a run. My 2300 mile trip to Scotland returned an overall 49mpg; this with one passenger and two suitcases.

Comfort: Very spacious in the front, less so in the rear. The doors do not open to 90 degrees which makes access for elderly passengers difficult.

Boot space: Disappointing compared with hatchbacks and estate cars but this seems to be general for crossovers and SUVs. Also, the rear seats do not fold flat.

CVT: So far trouble-free although there are many horror stories of early failure. Ironically, CVT should be seamless gear changing but, for some inexplicable reason, Nissan have incorporated artificial steps in the transmission which are a good deal more lumpy than a conventional torque converter gearbox. A bad mistake which defeats the object of continuously variable transmission.

Noise: Road noise is minimal. The CVT is also quiet and i have heard none of the 'whine' that others complain of. The engine is quiet in suburban driving but is noisy when under load e.g. on steep hills or trying to do a quick overtake on the open road.

DAB: Apparently there has been a complaint about poor reception. Mine has been faultless, whether in the Scottish Highlands, Wales or the south-east where I live.

Heated front screen: Fantastic! It clears ice in less than a minute. Should be a safety feature on all cars.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Thringo on 28 June 2016
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 April 2016
5
reviewed by johnboy50 on 9 April 2016
2
reviewed by hepburn on 13 March 2016
1
reviewed by hepburn on 11 March 2016
4
reviewed by BigEgyptian on 4 December 2015
2
reviewed by Poor Nissan Customer Service on 13 September 2015
4
reviewed by Gaoler1234 on 11 August 2015
5
reviewed by Mihkel on 21 May 2015
1
reviewed by timothyskinner on 5 May 2015
3
reviewed by puddleduck on 17 April 2015
4
reviewed by NissanQQ14 on 2 March 2015
5
reviewed by hdr777 on 7 February 2015
5
reviewed by hdr777 on 7 February 2015
4
reviewed by Manta on 10 January 2015
4
reviewed by napron on 19 December 2014
4
reviewed by Meldrewman on 16 December 2014
4
reviewed by WillFos on 27 November 2014
1
reviewed by WillFos on 2 May 2014
5
reviewed by old norm on 1 May 2014

Write your review

About this car

Price£19,995–£30,645
Road TaxA–G
MPG47.1–74.3 mpg
Real MPG79.7%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Stephen Hawksworth
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car