Lexus RX 450h (2009 - 2015)

4
reviewed by rickenbacker_al on 27 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 August 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 August 2020
4
reviewed by macscrooge on 2 April 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
5
reviewed by Failander on 17 November 2017
5
reviewed by Tom Rowlands on 31 August 2017
5
reviewed by loughrigg lad on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by Silversalmon on 2 February 2017
4
reviewed by John M Evans on 22 January 2017
5
reviewed by timbest4 on 5 March 2016
4
reviewed by Powers Teering on 17 January 2016
4
reviewed by neilthedeal on 19 October 2014
4
reviewed by neilthedeal on 28 March 2014
5
reviewed by Probian on 23 January 2014
5

SE-L Premier 5dr 4 X 4

reviewed by Hasselblad on 24 October 2012
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Superb even by Lexus standards

After nearly five absolutely trouble free years with an RX400h, I opted to go again with Lexus.I tried the X5 and the ML and had a 'look' at the Audi and Volvo offerrings.

One feature kept emerging with the Lexus....refinement. The full hybrid is simply a delight to own and drive. Smooth, quiet, responsive and proven reliability.

The Head Up display is a real boon and coupled with the two safety features of PCS and ACC, it all adds up to being a safe and useful environment.......my Insurance is £230 and VED £145 a year. For a 2ton + 4X4, that's very fair.

Economy is,as usual, dependent entirely on how I drive it and it seems a bit pointless stating it!
On one 100 mile trip, it achieved 52mpg simply by staying with the traffic. On the other hand, treat it as if it is a 'boy racer' special and you can be in the mid 20's. I seem to be averaging 38, which is noticeably better than my 400h and leaves our Range Rover at 17mpg and our diesel Discovery at 26mpg, looking rather sick.

However, does it matter? Differentials in fuel costs are swamped by real life depreciation on new or nearly new cars........you just have to accept it or buy older vehicles.

Fit and finish are exemplary and the quality of leather is lovley, making the German stuff seem crude but not as luxurious as the earlier Jaguars.

Instrumentation is extensive and a good read of the Handbook essential! The Lexus dealership has been a real boon as usual. They leave my local Mercedes and Land Rover franchises looking amateurish.

How could it be better? Well, for the money, not much. A wider colour choice would help and the Extended Warranty needs to be cheaper.

What feature is most desirable? I would not sacrifice the Head Up display, ever!

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by CBHenley on 1 October 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£44,571–£61,096
Road TaxAlternative fuel, D–F
MPG44.8–51.4 mpg
Real MPG68.6%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by SUR
5
submitted by SUR
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car