KIA Sportage (2010 - 2016)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 November 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 June 2018
3
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 3 June 2018
5
reviewed by john. on 17 June 2016
5
reviewed by lawnmower on 5 November 2015
5
reviewed by lawnmower on 24 August 2015
4

1 1.6 GDi 2WD 5dr SUV

reviewed by Anonymous on 27 May 2014
4
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

The 7 year transferable guarantee and the looks are enough to sell this car.

The second hand car market in Andalusia where I live is shall we say poor, so when I saw this vehicle for sale cheaply and within 50 miles I jumped at it. I had been thinking of a new Dacia Duster or Renault Captur. Now after 5000km (3600miles) I still look forward to driving it.
This is despite its worst feature, steering devoid of feel, and perhaps (oh dear this is going to sound so shallow) because of its looks. Mine is black with the 17inch alloys and every conceivable extra including leather heated seats, sat nav and reversing camera, and dual climate control, plus the usual huge list of 'extras' that Kia throw in.
Back to that steering, it is very direct and light. I had a Ford Focus 1.8 diesel estate before so that is my main comparison and the Kia steering is lighter and more direct than that. The lack of feel is however disconcerting to start with, and definitely discourages enthusiastic driving. This car, especially with the 1.6 petrol is not an enthusiasts car. The engine is very responsive, pulling from a diesel like 11 or 1200 revs, but needs more gear changing than I am used to, especially with its 6 speed box. However it is possible if you are not in a hurry to go from about 35 mph to the cars 105 max in 6th gear. That gear change by the way, is not slick, but perfectly okay.
I had expected this car to roll like a van but provide a soft ride. It is just the opposite. A firmish ride and only a little roll and only if you drive in a manner the car does not encourage, ie some pretty hectic cornering.
This car comes with Stop-start to switch off the engine at lights. However the engine is so quiet you have to look at the instruments to see if it has cut in. Kia call it intelligent stop start and this means so many factors are taken into account by the circuits controlling this that you have no idea whatsoever if it is going to operate.
This and other under bonnet wizardry ( economy controlled alternater for example) do mean what is quite a chunky car manages 43 mpg with carefull driving. 37-40 is more usual and I would suspect less might be achieved in city driving.
Inside the car is in my view stylish and fairly comfortable. I find the seats a bit hard. There are some minor complaints I have about the trip computer. One cannot see the time without pressing a button if the radio/sat nav is off and the temp has to be switched to as one of about 8 options. However a frost warning beeps whatever. That sat nav is either faulty , poorly programmed or impossively complex, I havent found out yet!
The stereo has a wonderfull sound but you can enjoy it for more than 3 or 4 minutes with the engine off as it cuts out to save the battery.
Inside there are no less than 6 places to keep bottles but no where for coins or keys. The car 'keys' themselves can stay in your pocket. The car senses their pressence and the push botton start door locks work. The car wont let you lock the fob inside either.
The boot is thus easy to access and largish with a usefull little cubby hole and lots of space round the full size alloy spare! The seats fold very easily but far from flat. However they do allow the front seats to recline half way which folding rear squabs prevent.
Finally back to that guarantee. Businesses are not famous for customer service where I live so i wondered how much of a quible there might be asking for work under guarantee, having bought this car imported from Holland, and second hand. Not only were there no hesitancy in doing the work under warantee the service reception were friendly, courtious and worked roughly to the agreed times. First rate service from Kia.
So there you have it. Buy a Sportage for a car that lives up to its name in looks only but is a pleasure to own and enjoyable to cruise round in. Better still get a black one with leather seats and show a certain drug dealer side of your image.

Report as offensive

2
reviewed by Scottie Boy on 6 April 2014
5
reviewed by philwelk on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Paul Wren on 12 September 2013
4
reviewed by Torqueback on 14 August 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 February 2013
5
reviewed by matt748 on 10 November 2012
3
reviewed by pgw2811 on 17 August 2012
3
reviewed by disgruntled on 3 April 2011
5
reviewed by BobbyNog on 15 November 2010
5
reviewed by bigmeg on 22 October 2010
5
reviewed by Natie2010 on 12 October 2010
5
reviewed by jimmyhoops on 12 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,465–£29,510
Road TaxE–J
MPG34.4–55.4 mpg
Real MPG80.5%

Just reviewed...

2
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car