Which products have made it into the Honest John Kit gift guides for Christmas 2019? You'll be surprised... | No thanks

Honda Civic (2001 - 2005)

5
reviewed by Sharoz on 10 February 2017
4
reviewed by bubsqueaker on 17 January 2016
5

Honda Civic EU7

reviewed by jjgixer on 24 February 2015
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Prefect family car 1.4 max

I highly recommend this car for any family or learner. Read the HJ reviews - they say it all. Hopefully my review will fill in some blanks they missed out.

My 1.4 max - special edition with a few extras added on when purchased was giving to my wife by her ageing grandad. It continues to serve us well. Remember it's a city car and not a mile cruncher or motorway express, it is comfortable and serves us on big journeys around the uk to see family members.

Get a preface lift model if you can (2001-2003), the Center console that's fitted between the front seats on the later models robs valuable space from the front foot wells and makes front to back swap overs more difficult. As the earlier models transition from front to back is so easy. Being first time parents this is a major plus.

It's a tardis. Fridge freezer, washing machine, several home moves......

Walk away from any noisy gearboxes, especially if it whines in first or second. High milers tend to have crunchy fifth gears. Honda do great engines but butter gearboxes, especially on this civic and jazz. We replaced ours at 72000 miles with a exchange from company in Birmingham. £425 and eight hour turn around. It's a well documented issue. Resolved with the face lifted models.

Servicing is so easy, completed a cam belt change its that easy. Bought only genuine Honda filters,plugs,oil etc for fifty quid and service every 6k miles. Exhaust is still original now it's 14 yrs old there's hardly any rust, been outside and not garaged it's whole life.

Get tracking done the moment the steering feels flighty. I can always tell if the missus has Kerbed it. Or every couple of years. Tyre wear will highlight any tracking issues too!

Check a/c operation and the condenser coil condition. Like all a/c coils they take a pounding from stones and road salt.

It's cheap to run and a joy to own.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by JPRD on 4 February 2014
5
reviewed by belknap on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by caledonia84 on 28 May 2013
4
reviewed by Dan the civic man on 24 October 2012
4
reviewed by binao on 22 March 2012
2
reviewed by The Fox Hat on 18 July 2011
4
reviewed by Yanne on 18 October 2010
2
reviewed by TimPy on 13 August 2010
3
reviewed by Adam.G on 24 May 2010

Write your review

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by michael entwisle
5
submitted by Tr1cky
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car