What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Honda Civic 2001

5
reviewed by Sharoz on 10 February 2017
4
reviewed by bubsqueaker on 17 January 2016
5
reviewed by jjgixer on 24 February 2015
5

1.6 EX automatic

reviewed by JPRD on 4 February 2014
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Fanastic automatic

I was looking for an old school auto for my wife to learn in (doesn't like manuals). Bought from a Honda dealer in October 2012. Only had 25k miles on the clock - car was basically new. Nobody had sat in the passenger seats. Previous owner was a magistrate and he'd looked after the car impeccably.
Good points:
Brilliant reliability. Nothing has gone wrong and the car is getting on for 9 years old.
Lovely smooth torque converter auto. Does what is says on the tin.
The VTEC engine is a peach. It cruises quietly at 70 at 2800 rpm. Also goes like stink if you need a quick overtake.
Fuel economy is good for an auto.
Loads of space and storage.

Not so good:
Some of the trim and switchgear is very cheap.
A few mystery rattles, but not bad for 9 year old car.
Ride is very firm and noisy around town.

I take it to Independent Honda service station (ex main dealer: Saunders for Service in Chester) for servicing and repairs. They have told me never to sell it as it's a museum piece and will last forever.
Downside: my wife has passed her test and is now adopting the car. So that leaves me with a void - not sure what to fill it with. Toyota Avensis vmatic or Lexus IS250 auto?

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by belknap on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by caledonia84 on 28 May 2013
4
reviewed by Dan the civic man on 24 October 2012
4
reviewed by binao on 22 March 2012
2
reviewed by The Fox Hat on 18 July 2011
4
reviewed by Yanne on 18 October 2010
2
reviewed by TimPy on 13 August 2010
3
reviewed by Adam.G on 24 May 2010

Write your review

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by G Hope
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car