What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Honda Civic (2001 - 2005)

5
reviewed by Sharoz on 10 February 2017
4
reviewed by bubsqueaker on 17 January 2016
5
reviewed by jjgixer on 24 February 2015
5
reviewed by JPRD on 4 February 2014
5
reviewed by belknap on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by caledonia84 on 28 May 2013
4

3DR 1.4 imagine blue

reviewed by Dan the civic man on 24 October 2012
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Very Good, but not as bombproof as the old ones.

Firstly i bought the car in august with 93k and fsh for the amazing sum of £1100 - bargain and HPI clear. I spent 1 hour inspecting it and 30mins road testing it - I'm an ex plant engineer so know my way around vehicles. the old fault i found was the a/c wasn't blowing cold and the condenser seaming to be the issue as it was half rotted away !!

I've had the car 2 months and 3k and nothing has gone wrong, i check the oil/coolant weekly and it never uses a drop. I get a real 45mpg average over an entire tank ( i worked it out using a calculator ) whilst city/ a road driving and that's at a normal/quick driving pace not eco driving.

the engine is stupidly quite and can't be heard whilst normal driving, brakes are very good and body roll is also very good. it seats adults in the back comfortably and has a decent sized boot.

it is a absolute gem when it comes to repair/maintenance as everything is easy to reach and servicing will be a piece of cake - not had to replace anything yet, but I've been over the car with a fine tooth comb.

The engines will just run and run and run they literally are the defination of bomb proof.

common faults include -

However the manual gearbox's are less so, their is a really common fault where the input shaft bearing starts to fail and causes a noise whilst in neutral - the noise will go away when you press the clutch. although fairly straight forward to do it will cost about £600 to get this done at a independent garage - this includes a new clutch also. I should mention that honda extended the warranty to 7 years/90,000 miles on ep1 gearbox's and will repair it for free.

another very common fault is the piece of s***e electric steering rack, good concept but in real life not so good- they are expensive, rob the driver of feel and like to fail !! the steering rack itself is a piece of p*** to remove - about 1 hour labour max. and their is a company that will re manufacture it for £325 and offer a lifetime warranty to solve this issue.

mine has a slight gearbox noise, but I'm waiting for it to fail before fixing the issue. and the steering is starting to get stiff in the dead centre position, but not enough to justify the cost of repair. my car is no way near a lemon and like i mentioned i did a full inspection of the car when i bought it, these are just very common civic faults.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by binao on 22 March 2012
2
reviewed by The Fox Hat on 18 July 2011
4
reviewed by Yanne on 18 October 2010
2
reviewed by TimPy on 13 August 2010
3
reviewed by Adam.G on 24 May 2010

Write your review

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Scott McGregor
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car