Ford C-MAX (2010 - 2019)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 September 2021
4
reviewed by Deniz binatli on 23 July 2021
5
reviewed by Ernie Huntington on 12 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2019
3
reviewed by Mike Goddard on 21 March 2019
4
reviewed by Frank Mills on 14 December 2017
5
reviewed by Duncan E V Curtis on 22 July 2017
4
reviewed by Jeffrey A on 31 March 2016
3
reviewed by Bylane Bill on 20 March 2016
4
reviewed by Coche999 on 14 March 2016
4
reviewed by teric on 22 January 2016
5
reviewed by Kremnin on 10 December 2015
4
reviewed by dogdays on 8 November 2015
5
reviewed by flying_porker on 2 April 2015
3
reviewed by stagsfell on 20 January 2015
5
reviewed by Neil from Edgbaston on 18 December 2014
4
reviewed by Mr Bedford on 20 June 2014
5
reviewed by WaltersJ on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by Bylane Bill on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Kite on 1 May 2014
4
reviewed by tartlet on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Happy C-Max on 15 February 2011
2

Zetec 1.6 (105ps) 5dr People Carrier

reviewed by fatgit on 9 January 2011
2
Overall rating
4
How it drives
1
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
2
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Big, comfortable gas guzzler

I loved this car on the test drive - it was everything I wanted. Big enough to get two 6th teenagers in the back and a mobility scooter in the boot, power to get up the local hills, and reasonable MPG.

Within 6 months, everything changed.
The clutch burned out. The dealer initially wanted £500 just to crack open the clutch to see if it was a fault or not, even though it is a Motability car, and it took a lot of arguing to get that point across to them. They then said that the clutch had burned out , and it must be due to the driving style - which is rubbish as I've driven everything under the sun, including some right old bangers with ancient clutches to start with that have then lasted me years, and I haven't changed driving style, and the relacement hasn't burned out in 2.5 years. There's no way on earth that wasn't a fault.

Since the new clutch, MPG has decreased significantly, I now get 13mpg around town, 25-30 at a steady 55mph on the motorway. It is also very hard to get into reverse now, often going part way in and grinding, or jumping out. Ford keep saying there's nothig wrong, but we've had a few people try it, and it does the same for them, I'll be changing cars in 4 months, and I can't wait!

Visibility is an issue with the massive side pillars, and it can be alkward to park due to the rear, and judging how close you are to things.

The cabin is very comfortable and spacious, that's something I can't complain about. Loads of legroom all around and plenty of height.
AC, electric front windows, electric mirrors, privacy glass in the rear, AC, heated front windscreen were standard - the latter two being a huge bonus I. The recent bad weather when the temperature hit -18 (although the LCD displays just about gave up)

The trip computer has soe handy functions, like average speeds and mpg, current mpg etc, but the position isn't great for lookig at while driving.

If it wasn't for the clutch problems and the huge drop off in MPG since getting it, it would be a good car, but as it is, we really regret the decision to get it (although the local Ford dealer being utterly useless hasn't helped either)

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by fluffy bunny on 27 December 2010
3
reviewed by dangycool on 21 December 2010
1
reviewed by chiro on 7 December 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£22,295–£28,795
Road TaxA–I
MPG36.7–74.3 mpg
Real MPG79.2%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by William R. Pickles
 

Value my car