Ford C-MAX (2010 - 2019)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 September 2021
4
reviewed by Deniz binatli on 23 July 2021
5
reviewed by Ernie Huntington on 12 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2019
3
reviewed by Mike Goddard on 21 March 2019
4
reviewed by Frank Mills on 14 December 2017
5
reviewed by Duncan E V Curtis on 22 July 2017
4
reviewed by Jeffrey A on 31 March 2016
3
reviewed by Bylane Bill on 20 March 2016
4
reviewed by Coche999 on 14 March 2016
4
reviewed by teric on 22 January 2016
5
reviewed by Kremnin on 10 December 2015
4
reviewed by dogdays on 8 November 2015
5
reviewed by flying_porker on 2 April 2015
3

Titanium X 1.6T EcoBoost 182

reviewed by stagsfell on 20 January 2015
3
Overall rating
2
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

A good car overall but, for us, offered too little practical advantage over a normal "Focus-type" hatchback to which we have reverted.

This was a Ford Direct vehicle with 4k miles purchased from our local (and very good) independent Ford dealer. As we thought the current Focus boot on the small side, we decided to give the C-Max a try and as our annual mileage is now fairly low, went for petrol.

Equipment levels are good but I find it annoying that you have to go for a high spec car to get the more powerful engines and climate control (this gripe applies to most manufacturers of course). I was very disappointed to find powerfold mirrors were not standard on the C-Max, only the Grand. This car did have the factory fitted rear parking aid including a visual display, which is very good and I am surprised this is not a standard fitment. The DAB radio was next to useless in our area, but the USB port is a handy feature.

The engine was quiet, smooth and flexible in normal driving but seemed lacking higher up the rev range particularly for back road overtaking situations and I suspect that for most people it has little real advantage over the 150ps version. Average economy is in the high 30s which I felt was reasonable (I had the full complement of green petals showing in the economy display). It is not much behind what my friend achieves in his 1.0T EcoBoost Focus but a long way off the 55mpg I averaged in a Focus 2.0 diesel and I feel the economy case for "downsized petrols" is still to be proven.

Handling was good for a tall-ish vehicle with roll quite well controlled but there was too much pitch/dive on firm acceleration and braking. Ride was generally quite good but occasionally fell down on broken roads (unfortunately we have rather a lot of those in our area). Braking was effective but (and again like many modern cars) lacked progression.

On collection the car was prepared to a very high standard and we had no faults or unexpected expenses and found insurance very reasonable.

Although the boot does offer more capacity than a Focus, we found the practicality aspect a little disappointing in that the folding arrangements for the rear seats are very clumsy (in particular I found it laughable that to fold the seats fully forward involves securing them to the front head restraints with a rubber strap/hook).

My wife who is only an occasional driver reports that the car "felt big" notwithstanding that the length/width are within millimetres of a Focus. She did however appreciate the higher seating position.

I found the seating position reasonably comfortable but, despite the wide range of adjustment, was unable to find a satisfactory seat/pedal relationship when operating the clutch. This caused discomfort/pain in my left knee, ankle and foot and was a major factor in our decision to change the car prematurely.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Neil from Edgbaston on 18 December 2014
4
reviewed by Mr Bedford on 20 June 2014
5
reviewed by WaltersJ on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by Bylane Bill on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Kite on 1 May 2014
4
reviewed by tartlet on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Happy C-Max on 15 February 2011
2
reviewed by fatgit on 9 January 2011
3
reviewed by fluffy bunny on 27 December 2010
3
reviewed by dangycool on 21 December 2010
1
reviewed by chiro on 7 December 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£22,295–£28,795
Road TaxA–I
MPG36.7–74.3 mpg
Real MPG79.2%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by William R. Pickles
 

Value my car