Citroen C4 Cactus (2014 on)

4
reviewed by Forgetmenot on 26 April 2021
2
reviewed by Hellooo on 19 November 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 October 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 July 2018
1

1.2 Puretech 82 Flair Etg Start+Stop 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by normnod on 24 July 2018
1
Overall rating
1
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
2
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Dreadful

Car looks alright I suppose, seats are comfyish, dashboard is cool but the touchscreen is slow and poor. Aircon is in the asthmatic grandad territory and much worse than my previous Mk1 C4.

Fuel economy alright, consistently 46mpg until software update at the 32000 mile service (that added sporty but pointless downshift throttle blips) dropped that to 43 for no actual gain in driveability.

"Award-winning" Puretech engine is gutless, noisy and rough - especially when woken by the start/stop system. It can go if it feels like it but the whole system does not work.

ETG gearbox is even worse, it's jerky, noisy and short a gear here - only a 5 speed on the 82. Given how rubbery and indistinct the PSA 5 -speed is it's no surprise the electronics struggle with it.

Creep and hill holder systems are dangerous, they work only when they feel like it and are never well coordinated. The creep often results it jerks and judders that make you look like a learner. The car also chooses when it will accelerate, sometimes abandoning you in the middle of a roundabout, sometimes taking off so fast it turns in to a leathal weapon. The last straw was when this murderous system tried to kill a pedestrian on a zebra crossing. Car left me feeling stressed every time I drove it.

Do not be tempted by the free tax and purported low running costs - AVOID.

Citroen should recall these deathtraps before they actually kill somebody.

Replaced by a thoroughly coventional Kia Soul Diesel Auto - engine is quieter, gearbox works and the spec is better, finally I can relax at the wheel.

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 July 2018
1
reviewed by Mike gibbins on 10 December 2017
5
reviewed by David.Ward on 1 November 2017
4
reviewed by lowfly on 27 October 2017
4
reviewed by TechGirl on 30 August 2017
3
reviewed by Neville Bolding on 17 August 2017
5
reviewed by ciaran1602 on 7 August 2016
1
reviewed by SirLockstock on 29 June 2016

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,990–£21,705
Road TaxA–C
MPG55.4–91.1 mpg
Real MPG72.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by tomsdad
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car