BMW 5 Series Touring (2010 - 2017)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 March 2022
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 January 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 May 2021
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 October 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 February 2019
5
reviewed by kmm on 12 February 2019
5

523i Msport Touring

reviewed by Anonymous on 27 July 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Drive a 6 cylinder petrol version of this car with auto and you will be smitten.

523i Msport Touring = F11 in BMW speak.
Could BMW please make a fully electric version of this car with more range than a Tesla model S.
250 miles would do it and maybe I could plug in extra batteries in the boot for long journies?
That said, this car feels like it's already fully electric - the velvet ride, velvet 6 cylinder engine and gearbox are 'soperific' in their smoothness, although dodgy roads are not good for low profile tyres.
Words cannot do justice to this car until you try it for yourself. No motoring corespondent ever managed to give me hint how good this car is!
The one word of warning: you may not be happy to go back to an ordinary car.
Bills: I've had BMW's since 1985 and all sorts of other cars - and never had any of them serviced, just feed in the best and get out the best.
The BMW's have been easy to live with and cost me less than GBP 1000.00 per year. I only get fixed what breaks, and with BMW it stays fixed!
Back to the 523i:
Please note, this 3 litre, 204HP engine has a hint of a 'beast' cadged under the car, I call this 'character' - this makes me smile every time I drive it
and makes me aware that a fully electric version may never be as good.
This car averages 40MPG when driven carefully and 50MPG to 60 MPG on the motorway = 20% better then my E39 520i Touring. It can also do 18MPG - it's your choice!
This car may be one of the last of the 'truly outstanding' internal combustion engine cars in the world - just as the 6 cylinder E30 320i and 325i were the last of the truly 'wicked' production cars in the world.
The E30 (and E21 before that) driven by a competant 'enthusiast' could raise the kind of 'drifting' smile that very few cars are 'allowed' to do anymore, E39's and F11's are much too 'safe'.
In fact why don't BMW build an electric car with the same wicked handling of an E30? They may not sell any to the namby pamby masses (Audi drivers) - but I would pay extra to have one.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Terry summers on 18 October 2017
5
reviewed by tonytee on 3 August 2017
2
reviewed by Johnfrog on 2 August 2017
1
reviewed by cjm16 on 28 February 2015
5
reviewed by Richard BMW on 17 October 2014
5
reviewed by Richard BMW on 2 May 2014
5
reviewed by Richard BMW on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by DaveHop on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 October 2012
4
reviewed by dwf001 on 9 October 2012
5
reviewed by a900ss on 1 September 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 June 2012
4
reviewed by Provence Boy on 30 May 2012
5
reviewed by Devon Dumpling on 13 May 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£32,590–£60,220
Road TaxD–L
MPG26.4–62.8 mpg
Real MPG73.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous