BMW 5 Series Touring (2010 - 2017)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 March 2022
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 January 2022
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 May 2021
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 October 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 February 2019
5
reviewed by kmm on 12 February 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 July 2018
5
reviewed by Terry summers on 18 October 2017
5
reviewed by tonytee on 3 August 2017
2
reviewed by Johnfrog on 2 August 2017
1
reviewed by cjm16 on 28 February 2015
5
reviewed by Richard BMW on 17 October 2014
5
reviewed by Richard BMW on 2 May 2014
5
reviewed by Richard BMW on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by DaveHop on 23 January 2014
5

520d Auto 5dr Estate

reviewed by Anonymous on 18 October 2012
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

A dream to drive

Replaced my 2008 520d Touring with this one from a BMW main dealer. The 2008 car was disappointing; it was my first BMW and I couldn't make out what all the fuss was about . Drive was so-so,the gearbox awful, the gearing not suited to our 30mph speed limit, the run-flats tramlined until warmed-up, and there were numerous rattles. Even the wipers swept the "wrong" way for rhd! Then I had to take it in to a main dealer to have the tailgate replaced (rust coming through) and they gave me a 2011 model as a loan car. What a difference! I took the plunge and bought a similar model.
It is a serene driving experience. The car is very quiet and handles beautifully. The 8-speed auto gearbox has an almost seamless change, and seems ideal for our range of speed limits. Yes it is a big car - but you soon get used to it.
I knew when I bought it that I was the wrong sort of driver: I do occasional 15-20 mile round-trips and it takes 7 miles for the engine to reach operating temperature. This means I average about 42mpg and can probably expect the dpf to start complaining. Drive the car on a motorway, on the other hand, and you realise this is what it was built to do. However, I knew this before I bought it, and don't have any regrets.
The interior fit and finish are excellent, and the seats comfortable. The driving position, though, is low - even with the height raised to maximum.
The car has a Business sat-nav. The Professional would have been better as, for one thing, it can store music on the car's hard disk drive. I have to plug in a usb drive into the port in the centre console. The console lid still closes, but it would be easy to damage the drive if rummaging around in the centre console for something.
Complaints? Only one: as Honest John points out, the windscreens do tend to be thin. Mine produced an 8" crack today when a stone hit it. BMW said they did not have a replacement screen in the country and that there was a six-week back-order!! I had to have a windscreen repair company source an identical screen from Pilkington, with the BMW logo etched out. BMW Customer Services have failed to explain why a third party can source replacement screens but they can't. Oh dear, BMW. Very poor.
Nevertheless,I love the car. I have never been so relaxed when driving!

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by dwf001 on 9 October 2012
5
reviewed by a900ss on 1 September 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 26 June 2012
4
reviewed by Provence Boy on 30 May 2012
5
reviewed by Devon Dumpling on 13 May 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£32,590–£60,220
Road TaxD–L
MPG26.4–62.8 mpg
Real MPG73.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car

Save £75 on Warranty using code HJ75

with MotorEasy

Get a warranty quote

Save 12% on GAP Insurance

Use HJ21 to save on an ALA policy

See offer