Audi A6 Avant (2011 - 2018)

5
reviewed by Chris Farley on 22 January 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 November 2019
4
reviewed by Cieurniht on 19 October 2019
5
reviewed by AnaestheticD on 30 March 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 March 2019
3

2.0 TDI 190ps S Line Ultra S tronic 5dr Estate

reviewed by MarcusVia on 26 April 2017
3
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

A comfortable cruiser with good performance let down by faults from new

Update 26-04-2017
Having not had a single DPF regeneration issue with my previous Skoda Superb diesel 170PS, the A6 Ultra has thrown up too many DPF faults despite being used on the same type of journeys as the Skoda. Even after a 500+ mile motorway run it will start to regenerate on a short journey (5-10 miles) the following day which can't be completed due to the short mileage runs. It just never seems to regenerate at times when it should, for example the long motorway runs. I wonder if the overdrive gearing is just too high and not allowing the DPF to regenerate due to low engine revs.
Despite the great ride and quiet cabin, AdBlue top-ups every 5,500 miles and DPF issues make this a temperamental car to live with. I wouldn't want to own it after the warranty expires and will be choosing a Petrol Electric Hybrid or Petrol only when this car goes back to the lease company in July 2017.

Original review:

After moving from a 2011 Skoda Superb Estate Elegance that only made trips to the main dealer for a service, my expectations were high for the Audi.
Sadly after five separate visits to the dealer, the new car appeal wore off quickly:
- Software update meant car was off road for 4 days
- Glow Plug Failure
- Electric Parking Brake malfunctions and replacement of control unit
- Faulty centre speaker mounting
- Creaking front suspension

The car has admittedly settled down now that I'm over a year into ownership but the niggling faults would stop me from ever buying a used model. This car is leased for business use.

Despite the niggles it's otherwise a great car.
- Economy is averaging 48mpg over 29,000 miles to date (April 2016).
- Returns well over 56mpg on motorway runs.
- Excellent 'overdrive' in 7th gear - ticking over at 1,600 RPM at indicated 80mph.
- DSG box is fine once you get used to it.
- Ad-Blue Usage is now approx 13 litres every 5,500 miles.

Overall a 3-star rating because it is such a good, quiet cruiser but high dealer service costs are a problem. If Audi dealers can manage a 3-year service plan for 3+ year old cars for £500.00 why does it cost our company £1,500.00 for the same 3-year plan on a new car?

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by Cornish 1960 on 31 March 2016
2
reviewed by robtt on 31 March 2016
5
reviewed by cantata on 19 January 2015
5
reviewed by spakatak on 1 May 2014
4
reviewed by spakatak on 6 September 2013
4
reviewed by waterman 4596 on 22 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£32,985–£54,390
Road TaxC–J
MPG34.4–64.2 mpg
Real MPG74.3%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car