Audi A6 Avant (2011 - 2018)

5
reviewed by Chris Farley on 22 January 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 November 2019
4
reviewed by Cieurniht on 19 October 2019
5
reviewed by AnaestheticD on 30 March 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 March 2019
3
reviewed by MarcusVia on 26 April 2017
1
reviewed by Cornish 1960 on 31 March 2016
2
reviewed by robtt on 31 March 2016
5

3.0 TDI S line 5dr Estate

reviewed by cantata on 19 January 2015
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Cor, what a lovely car...

...is what all my friends have said so far when they've seen what I've spent my pennies on.
I set out to buy a largish estate, nearly new, diesel, auto, one that I would feel safe and secure in, having had a very bad accident in a Saab a few years ago that I walked away from.
The search narrowed to the Skoda Superb or A6 Avant. Somehow we just felt the A6 was the better car although it was certainly more expensive. BMW Touring 520D an obvious alternative but irrationally I simply don't want a BMW, and anyway they are more expensive at similar spec levels to the Audi.
I then set out to look for an Avant 2.0 TDI, preferably not black (they are nearly all black), SE level not S-line as I was wary of the larger wheel rims of the S-line. However there was little choice available at SE level, so I agreed to try an S-line to evaluate the handling and ride vs. the SE, and this S-line happened to be a 3.0 TDI. Totally smitten straightaway with the effortless bigger engine, that was the one we bought, it's not black either.
It's just a great car, no effort to drive, decent handling, superb seats, lots of toys, feels like it's carved from a lump of granite, looks great, and what's more I am averaging, over mixed driving, 44.8mpg, astonishing for a 3.0 V6. Insurance is very reasonable indeed as is the VED charge (on models 2011->).
Downsides? Some of the gadgetry takes some getting used to but then I haven't owned an Audi for years. So the handbook has been bedtime reading for a few evenings.
Shame with the keyless operation that you still have to use the key-fob buttons to lock/unlock it.
Otherwise, just delighted with it.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by spakatak on 1 May 2014
4
reviewed by spakatak on 6 September 2013
4
reviewed by waterman 4596 on 22 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£32,985–£54,390
Road TaxC–J
MPG34.4–64.2 mpg
Real MPG74.3%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car