Vauxhall Zafira (2005 - 2014)

4
reviewed by Robin Lewis, on 23 December 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 November 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 November 2020
3
reviewed by dombat on 22 February 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 May 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 May 2019
4
reviewed by Alan Burtonwood on 23 August 2018
1
reviewed by helenrufus on 6 July 2016
3
reviewed by JM Prieto on 18 August 2015
5
reviewed by MTD on 22 March 2015
3
reviewed by fonmenage on 16 October 2014
3
reviewed by theoldboy on 29 August 2014
4
reviewed by RodM on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2014
1

Breeze 1.9 CDTI Breeze

reviewed by zafiramuck on 24 June 2013
1
Overall rating
3
How it drives
1
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

A very poor car.

This is an honest review of this car and I write it in the vain hope that someone will make an informed decesion based on it content.

When buying a MPV, most will notice what good value the Zafira is compared to others... there is a reason for this... its cheap to buy as its cheap build quality.

In 2011 I decided to change my old 54 Plate Zafira for a newer car and had the unfortunate idea that the Zafira B would be as good as its predecessor.

I have been a bit of a Vaulhall fan for many years and had owned Corsa's, Astras and a Zafira so it was a natural choice for the Zafira B.

Sadly I was unable to afford a new car so I scrimped and saved and went for a 3 year old Diesel Breeze. The car was almost exactly 3 years old (with in a week when I purchased it)

After about 4 weeks of ownership, a warning light came on and I took it to my local Vauxhall garage who told me it was a DPF fault, the idea of a DPF fault sent shivers down my spine, however all was not lost it was a sensor and pipe needed and I was presented with a £170 bill. The garage said they had tried to see if Vauxhall would cover it under warranty but they refused. It was suggested I speak to Vauxhall and we may go 50/50 as it was only weeks out of warranty!

Well despite several email and calls Vauxhall refused to help. So eventually I gave up mainly because the staff that called me appeared to be reading a script and never really knew what they were talking about.

Well time went by...in the 2 years of ownership I have had the following problems!

1) The trim buttons the cover the mirror screws and door panel kept coming loose or fell off.

2) The trim on the sill kept coming off.

3) The left hand 3rd row seat handle came off twice

4) The front splitter (Why have one of those on a family car?) Started to come off.

5) The rear light clusters fill with water and condensation (I have removed cleaned the seals, dried them refitted them several times but still they fill with condensation)

6) The steering wheel controls work intermittently, some days they are ok other don't work.

7) The horn does not work (may be connected to the steering wheel controls)

8) We getting an intermittent loud knocking from under the car (its been checked by a garage who have heard it but can find no fault) it comes and goes so we live it no matter how annoying it is.

9) Heater fan has stopped working on settings 1,2 and 3. We were told that its a resistor pack. This was replaced and its failed again. have been told now it needs a whole new fan assembly.

10) DPF sensor failure

11) Total DPF failure, now this did not happen while around town but on an Autobahn in Germany! I was told by Vauxhall 2 years ago give it a good run on the motorway and it will clear it. Well it was a good run on a motorway that blocked it! Luckily we limped the 790 miles home with the car slowly loosing power. £1300 to replace this!

I can honestly say I have never been so utterly disappointed with a vehicle. The build quality appears to be poor as things keep falling off it. The electrics are failing, fans not working. I just have nothing good to say about this car it simply is rubbish!

So before you part with your cash think very carefully, if you dont need a diesel dont buy one and if you can afford a bit more buy something else.

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by Dust on 13 February 2013
4
reviewed by exmulet on 7 February 2013
3
reviewed by Swiss bloke on 26 October 2012
4
reviewed by cbell on 18 March 2012
5
reviewed by jeffh42 on 19 December 2011
2
reviewed by Molnboman on 16 August 2011
4
reviewed by NBLondon on 10 April 2011
2
reviewed by Exzafiradriver on 4 April 2011
3
reviewed by bluebottle7 on 26 December 2010
3
reviewed by theoldboy on 1 October 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£13,995–£27,300
Road TaxE–L
MPG29.4–55.4 mpg
Real MPG85.0%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car