Vauxhall Astra (2009 - 2015)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 December 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 November 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 November 2019
4
reviewed by Andrew Killian on 29 July 2019
5
reviewed by S Thompson on 15 December 2018
4
reviewed by Mark Richardson on 30 December 2017
1
reviewed by A Lester on 24 November 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 February 2016
1
reviewed by Miniman777 on 28 October 2015
5
reviewed by GHSAUNDERS40 on 7 April 2015
4
reviewed by Terence1313 on 6 March 2015
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 January 2015
1
reviewed by drave on 22 June 2014
4
reviewed by geoff444 on 29 March 2014
4
reviewed by twarden998 on 28 August 2013
3
reviewed by Falcon on 5 January 2013
4

1.4i Exclusiv (100bhp)

reviewed by powerredastraj on 9 November 2012
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Real quality feel - well built but sluggish and thirsty.

I bought my Astra as a successor to my 58-plate Corsa because I wanted a bit more refinement and space and in those respects I am very satisfied. I tried an Alfa Mito (a lot more money after my Vauxhall discount) and I was much more impressed by the Astra. I got a huge discount too through the Vauxhall Partner Scheme and paid a tad over £11K for a car that listed at over £16K so this will mitigate the huge depreciation that Astras suffer from. I have a great relationship with my Dealer who loves to haggle and who looks after me pretty well and this has definitely contributed to my overall satisfaction with the ownership experience.

I do about 1000 miles a month, mainly on a mixture of dual-carriageways and other A and B-roads. Ride is excellent and the interior (which was what actually sold me the car) gives the feeling of great quality. It is well-built and feels tough. It is easy to drive if a bit unexciting, with great brakes and steering I find pretty decent if a bit light. The gearbox is good too. Seats are comfortable even after a long day behind the wheel. The cruise control is a great feature and the audio is decent - once you get the hang of all of those buttons!

On the downside, I agree with other reviewers that the electronic handbrake takes some getting used to - I had a little "issue" a few days after getting the car but I have the hang if it now and don't have a problem with it though I do consider it an unnecessary gimmick.

My biggest beef, however is the fuel consumption. I have to drive like a Granny to get decent fuel economy. I monitor this closely using a dedicated website and this shows that I have averaged 45 mpg over 20,000 miles. The best has been 52 (on a very long cruise) and the worst 39 (in the hills of Cornwall on holiday!). Acceleration even when pressing-on is quite poor - which I put down to the relatively small engine and substantial weight of the car (which of course goes a long way to explain the comfort and refinement I wanted in the first place!). I am no boy-racer but I would describe performance as "adequate".

Would I buy another? Maybe - but I'd want more power and economy. Looking at the real MPG tables on this and other websites I'm not sure Vauxhall has an engine that will deliver that right now. There are said to be new power plants in development so I guess I'll wait and see what they deliver.

Finally, I'd say that overall I like the car a lot. It does everything I want of it except use fuel economically and it is very well fitted to my use of it as a work tool. However, having said all of that, given the choice of driving the new Astra or my 16-year-old poverty-spec Mazda MX-5 (also reviewed on this website!) it's the MX every time. Despite its lack of kit and refinement - it is just so much more FUN - and does nearly 40 mpg even when I thrash it!

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Falcon on 3 November 2012
5
reviewed by Chuckie888 on 26 February 2012
4
reviewed by hereclesdrumming on 13 February 2012
3
reviewed by nellyc56 on 16 January 2012
3
reviewed by colxdark on 22 November 2011
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 20 May 2011
3
reviewed by yitzak on 6 December 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,995–£25,285
Road TaxA–H
MPG38.7–78.5 mpg
Real MPG76.0%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car