Vauxhall Astra (2009 - 2015)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 December 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 November 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 November 2019
4
reviewed by Andrew Killian on 29 July 2019
5
reviewed by S Thompson on 15 December 2018
4
reviewed by Mark Richardson on 30 December 2017
1
reviewed by A Lester on 24 November 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 February 2016
1
reviewed by Miniman777 on 28 October 2015
5
reviewed by GHSAUNDERS40 on 7 April 2015
4
reviewed by Terence1313 on 6 March 2015
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 January 2015
1
reviewed by drave on 22 June 2014
4
reviewed by geoff444 on 29 March 2014
4
reviewed by twarden998 on 28 August 2013
3
reviewed by Falcon on 5 January 2013
4
reviewed by powerredastraj on 9 November 2012
4
reviewed by Falcon on 3 November 2012
5
reviewed by Chuckie888 on 26 February 2012
4

2.0 cdti SE

reviewed by hereclesdrumming on 13 February 2012
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Have owned every model of astra, so even though I might be getting on in years, I think my review is relevent.

After a break from Vauxhall, no particular reason (Escort rs turbo, Rover 216, Rover 216, Audi 80, Audi a4, Escort si, Freelander) I bought an Astra Mark 4 sri back in 2005. Great car. Sold it to a mate and he loves it. It must be one of the best examples on the road.
Fancied the Mark 5. Bought a used 1.9 design two years ago. No problems, I thought it was brilliant. Good handling, economical and reliable.
I was happy with the mark 5 but just had to have the new shape.
So, I bought a 2.0 cdti se with 16000 on the clock.
I've done 1500 miles and think it is time for a review.
Well...a bit different than the previous astras!. It is rather more refined. The inside is very good, all glowing lighting and buttons. I am a bit on the short side and the seat adjustment is perfect. Much better than any car I have previously owned.
It is a lovely car to drive and has a powerful feel; lots of torque.
Good points: Look forward to driving it, and that means a lot! Excellent driver position (for me 5 foot 6).
Good fuel consumption although I would argue a bit with Vauxhall's figures. I am averaging 48mpg.
Plenty of load space. I have to haul disco gear about and it is better than previous models. Plenty of nick nack space too. Very good audio. my reggae sounds ok.
The cruise control on the steering wheel is easier to operate than the mark 5, where it was on a stalk.
Bad points: Electric handbrake. What the hell is this all about? I know other cars have them but I just can't see the reason. Very easy to make a mistake (which I have! Luckily with no adverse concequences).
I reckon the mark 5 felt a bit better, suspension wise, but that's probably something to do with the bigger wheels on the mark 6. The DPF stinks if it kicks in when you a stationary.
Overall I love it

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by nellyc56 on 16 January 2012
3
reviewed by colxdark on 22 November 2011
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 20 May 2011
3
reviewed by yitzak on 6 December 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,995–£25,285
Road TaxA–H
MPG38.7–78.5 mpg
Real MPG76.0%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car