Toyota Avensis (2009 - 2015)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2021
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 July 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 July 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 July 2021
5
reviewed by Keith Stanyer on 8 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 December 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 November 2018
5
reviewed by Roger Willis on 25 July 2017
4
reviewed by Mr D Og on 26 February 2017
2

TR 1.8 V-matic 4dr Saloon

reviewed by John501 on 24 August 2016
2
Overall rating
3
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Disappointing Reliability - Full Main Dealer Service History But Gearbox Bearing Failure At < 25k Miles

I bought this low mileage (24k miles) car from a main dealer with full main dealer Toyota service history and within 2 weeks the deteriorating whining sound from the manual gearbox was diagnosed as a gearbox bearing failure. Luckily this was covered by the dealer's warranty and has now been with them being repaired for approximately 12 days.
I have had older Toyota Land Cruisers in the past with no problems but this car is a bitter disappointment and I will be getting rid of it as soon as it is fixed. I expected a reliable, basic car to depend on for the 25k motorway miles that I travel each year but this experience of Toyota has put me off - I cannot afford to take the risk of a second bearing failure within one year at my own cost. We will be definitely going back to Volvo cars to replace it and our second family car.
Car feels unstable, "wobbly", at motorway speeds despite good tyres and recent full service by Toyota (June 2016).
Good points - large boot, good internal space. Hopefully the engines are more reliable than the manual gearbox.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by T44RXX on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by dannydan on 16 February 2016
5
reviewed by maddog23 on 10 February 2016
4
reviewed by steelghost on 21 August 2015
4
reviewed by AngryJonny on 24 October 2014
1
reviewed by Lochinvar65 on 26 July 2014
4
reviewed by TR7 on 14 June 2014
2
reviewed by Jeremy 123 on 19 December 2013
5
reviewed by gedward on 18 March 2013
5
reviewed by maddog23 on 2 July 2012
4
reviewed by mudhutter on 7 July 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,700–£29,495
Road TaxC–H
MPG40.9–62.8 mpg
Real MPG81.8%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car