Toyota Avensis (2009 - 2015)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2021
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 July 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 July 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 July 2021
5
reviewed by Keith Stanyer on 8 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 December 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 November 2018
5
reviewed by Roger Willis on 25 July 2017
4
reviewed by Mr D Og on 26 February 2017
2
reviewed by John501 on 24 August 2016
5
reviewed by T44RXX on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by dannydan on 16 February 2016
5
reviewed by maddog23 on 10 February 2016
4
reviewed by steelghost on 21 August 2015
4
reviewed by AngryJonny on 24 October 2014
1
reviewed by Lochinvar65 on 26 July 2014
4
reviewed by TR7 on 14 June 2014
2
reviewed by Jeremy 123 on 19 December 2013
5
reviewed by gedward on 18 March 2013
5

1.8 VVT Multidrive Tourer CVT

reviewed by maddog23 on 2 July 2012
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Pretty Amazing once you master the digital interface

I bought this because I wanted a reliable and economical estate. Having had 5 Diesel cars in the last 10 years and each costing me some pain and expense at the end of my ownership, I wanted a car that didn't have: a diesel particulate filter; a dual mass flywheel; an EGR; a timing belt or a turbo. So it was petrol for me and the Avensis fitted all my requirements perfectly.

Aside from the unnecessarily over complicated interface to all of the electronics - SatNav; Phone; radio; settings - it has done everything I've asked of it and driven with a light foot I regularly exceed 42 mpg - mostly extra-urban, though, I live in Somerset and use the motorways extensively for long distance travel.

Not being a TV presenter or a motoring journalist I can report that it's not boring, is more than acceptable to drive and your driving style will never be embarrassed unless you are a boy racer, in which case you probably don't want a big family estate!

In fact I would say this is an ubiquitous car - it does most everything invisibly (and quietly, and comfortably) and most of the time it's like a magic carpet ride.

All new ones have a 5 year 100k warranty, but on current evidence I can't see it being needed, I've completed 11k trouble-free miles in the last 9 months and this looks like the first car I'll keep for more than 2 years.

I've yet to have it serviced, but the published prices look reasonable and my buying experience shows that Toyota keeps a very close handle on dealer quality - I was given a survey to complete 3 weeks after collecting the car, if any of my answers fell below "very good" or in some aspects "excellent" then the salesman would have had his commission reduced. As a result, everything was excellent.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by mudhutter on 7 July 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,700–£29,495
Road TaxC–H
MPG40.9–62.8 mpg
Real MPG81.8%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car