Skoda Yeti (2009 - 2017)

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 February 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 January 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 October 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 March 2019
5
reviewed by Steven Hodgson on 10 October 2018
5
reviewed by Steven Hodgson on 10 October 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 September 2018
5
reviewed by David Gutmann on 12 September 2018
2
reviewed by Dominic Smith on 23 April 2018
5
reviewed by pinkpanther_75 on 23 September 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 September 2017
4
reviewed by john Donelan on 3 September 2017
3
reviewed by rg5 on 3 September 2017
4
reviewed by Notageeki on 11 August 2017
5
reviewed by oldned on 4 August 2017
3
reviewed by PWT1958 on 7 June 2017
4
reviewed by isvana on 30 May 2017
1
reviewed by Richard Anton on 29 May 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 December 2016
5
reviewed by dieseljohnny on 30 November 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 June 2016
4
reviewed by expattrev on 21 May 2016
5
reviewed by bargee1759 on 10 March 2016
5
reviewed by PWT1958 on 10 December 2015
5
reviewed by DavidRS on 3 August 2015
5
reviewed by DavidRS on 3 August 2015
1
reviewed by Richard G Granvile on 23 April 2015
1
reviewed by Bianconeri on 18 April 2015
5
reviewed by Grandad Al on 13 April 2015
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by paulsiv on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by Highway Tsar on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by isaydingdong on 5 June 2014
4
reviewed by Busmanuk on 4 May 2014
5
reviewed by teflonted on 1 March 2014
5
reviewed by Auto York 2 on 28 February 2014
2
reviewed by Abominable on 31 January 2014
5
reviewed by teflonted on 24 January 2014
3
reviewed by PWT1958 on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by paulthepedant on 8 December 2013
1
reviewed by Mike Probert on 29 November 2013
3
reviewed by Raggamuffin on 28 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 November 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 October 2013
5
reviewed by iyk on 28 October 2013
5

Skoda Yeti SE Plus 4x4

reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2013
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

The best all round car I've ever owned

I had owned two Land Rover Freelanders and wouldn't have a word said against them until I looked at the Yeti and was won over by the capital outlay and the running costs. The Freelander was returning on average 34mpg whilst the Yeti does 52mpg the difference being attributable to the non-permanent 4x4 of the Skoda and the less powerful engine. The latter may be a problem if you tow something but as I don't it isn't an issue and I'm long past being a boy racer.

Land Rover's 4x4 system is probably the best there is but although I live in the depths of rural Cumbria and value four wheel drive in truth I didn't need it that often hence the Yeti's system is much better for me, I only suffer the reduced fuel consumption when I need to.

Having had a 4x4 previously then the practicalities of the car are what I'm used to although the Yeti has a lot more cubby holes than the Freelander particularly in the boot, I also like the various elastic straps, nets and hooks dotted about the place. One odd thing however is that the 12v socket outlets are permanently live so if you have an electric coolbox remember to unplug it overnight!

As with the Freelander I can only get one set of golf clubs in the boot and that's by taking out the longer clubs, any more and the back seats have to be dropped. Surprisingly I would guess the Yeti's boot space is no less than the Freelander's.

The Yeti SE Plus has satnav as standard and a six CD changer (for my three CDs!) as well as the radio, as a non-techy the operation of all this stuff seems quite intuitive and I don't often have to resort to the manual. One nice touch with the satnav is that the screen darkens if you turn on the sidelights, the Freelander's used to shine brightly at night which was quite a distraction.

All in all a very good car and to be recommended as one of the best in its sector.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by happy jack on 30 April 2013
5
reviewed by epicuser on 3 January 2013
5
reviewed by dieseljohnny on 1 December 2012
4
reviewed by sallys on 12 February 2012
5
reviewed by NeufNeuf on 29 June 2011
5
reviewed by YetiMan on 28 June 2011
5
reviewed by yeti owner on 11 May 2011
5
reviewed by stu-b on 21 April 2011
4
reviewed by hardingre on 14 February 2011
5
reviewed by Keith KI on 14 February 2011
5
reviewed by nick hall on 7 October 2010
3
reviewed by Buster Cambelt on 30 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,250–£28,170
Road TaxC–J
MPG35.3–64.2 mpg
Real MPG86.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Barnsley Taff
5
submitted by vor60
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car