Is your car your pride and joy, or are you ready for a change? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Skoda Superb 2002

2
reviewed by Alan Franklin on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by john. on 26 October 2015
5
reviewed by grahaa01 on 12 September 2015
4

Elegance 1.9 TDI PD 4dr Saloon

reviewed by supersamm on 2 January 2013
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

a lot of car - and I want to keep it.

lots of toys - full leather; heated seats in front and back; electric seats and memory for driver and mirrors; cruise control; decent stereo; sunroof; auto aircon; rain sensitive wipers; bi-xenon headlights; switchable auto dipping rear view mirror; ventilation for rear seat passengers, folding door mirrors etc. You need a 2005+ model to get the folding rear seats. Parking sensors work very well, but are prone to fail and expensive to replace. Loads of space in the back seat. Fitted sat nav is nice to have but not that user-friendly and does not use full postcodes (can buy a cheap Tom Tom for the price of a replacement disc).

Superbs are rare and Skoda mechanics don't get to see many of them - so if you have a problem, try the local VW dealer who has seen loads of B5.5 Passats and who's probably cheaper too!

Most of the mechanicals are Passat parts (not the parking sensors though) and Superbs have the same Passat faults, which VAG knew about but did not bother to address in their budget version. Shame on you VAG!!

Ensure that the drain bungs have been removed from the plenum chamber and the seal under the pollen filter replaced with the updated version (there is a VW service notice on this, but Skoda seem to be ignorant of it...) - failure to do this WILL result in failing electricals! And if you have a PD engine, only ever use the right spec of oil for a PD engine. Or else. (Lots of info available from a great owners forum at Briskoda.net)

But... a great car to drive, especially on A-roads and motorways; doesn't like being hurried around the twisty back roads that much - it's just not that sort of car. I've now had my 130 1.9TDi for 7 years and 70k miles. I've never had a car this long before and just don't know what I would change it for. And that's a problem I've never had before.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Felix69 on 19 October 2012
4
reviewed by Martin Freye on 14 February 2011
5
reviewed by BDZ on 11 February 2011
4
reviewed by asifms on 24 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,100–£22,920
Road TaxG–L
MPG28.1–48.7 mpg
Real MPG101.3%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Frances Aspinall
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car