Nissan Note (2006 - 2013)

3
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 February 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 December 2019
4
reviewed by Ian Worby on 27 September 2018
5
reviewed by Quadratica on 28 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 March 2018
5
reviewed by Davidridley on 22 March 2018
5
reviewed by Quadratic Reciprocity on 22 October 2017
5
reviewed by kevin1911 on 30 May 2016
5
reviewed by ScottCurtis on 6 November 2015
3
reviewed by drawlings on 18 December 2014
4

1.4 Acenta 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Shuff on 18 November 2014
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Total reliability, cheap to run but maybe a bit boring and not perfect

In terms of reliability and cost effectiveness this is a great car, both to buy and to run. It's over a year since I bought it and all I have replaced is wear and tear items - two front tyres and brake pads and discs. At the moment the heatshield on the downpipe is a bit rattly and the front right brakes are squeaking but should be easy DIY fixes - annoying all the same.

It is a fairly simple car so self servicing is easy, but also cheap enough to have a local mechanic do it as I wouldn't go to the expense of main dealer servicing on a car this simple. The Acenta, being mid range, is adequetly equipped - no sat nav but bluetooth which makes a genuine difference, air con, electric windows all round and light electric power steering.

The 1.4 is zippy enough in all conditions but better suited to town driving. We record 45mpg consistently with pretty much all town driving and plenty of air con (as it can get a bit steamy) which is good enough for me, although £140ish tax is a bit annoying.

What I like is the versatile interior - double glovebox, air con glovebox, double floored boot, underseat storage, sliding rear bench which you can still sit in fully forward, drivers armrest. Simple and easy to operate, nice big mirrors for good rear vision, and has never missed a beat and doesn't use oil/water etc. Easy for the home mechanic and most consumables will be cheap, as is the insurance.

What I don't like so much is the generally cheap feel of the car, nothing has broke but it feels a bit thin. It is the only car I have sat in with the seat fully slid back - and at 6 foot hardly a giant so taller drivers beware. The rest of the drivers seat doesn't really adjust greatly either and if you rest your head on the headrest you can feel the bottom of the two legs pushing into your back (gently) which again feels a bit cheap.

So maybe not perfect, but when comparing to my previous Grand Voyager which was awesomely equipped but dreadfully expensive to run, insure and tax and developed plenty of simple but expensive faults which local mechanics couldn't fathom - the Note is just stress and worry free in comparison so maybe a bit boring isn't too bad!

To reiterate the main selling point of this car for me - absolute relability whatever the conditions.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 October 2014
4
reviewed by FriarsCliff on 6 June 2014
3
reviewed by mckayi on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by note on 4 July 2013
3
reviewed by mikegreenland on 27 November 2012
5
reviewed by Bigdaveg on 19 August 2012
4
reviewed by note1.6A on 3 April 2012
4
reviewed by WELLBRAN on 22 July 2011
5
reviewed by FriarsCliff on 16 February 2011
4
reviewed by adrian borrell on 14 February 2011
5
reviewed by Sneaky Elephant on 27 October 2010
4
reviewed by Steve Watson on 11 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£9,990–£16,000
Road TaxB–G
MPG41.5–67.3 mpg
Real MPG96.0%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by david creswell
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car