Mazda 3 (2004 - 2009)

4
reviewed by ladiesman 217 on 26 April 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 July 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 June 2019
4

1.6 TS 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 3 June 2018
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Decent Runabout

I bought this car for my son in 2015 as his 2nd car.

It was fairly cheap - just under £2500 with 85.000 miles on it (2 owners, FSH, 10 months MOT).

A big upgrade from his much newer Vauxhall Corsa which, as with every Vauxhall me and my family has owned, was costing him a fortune in repair bills.

The Mazda on the other hand hasn’t been too bad, its now done 100.000 miles and had a few slight faults, coil springs and a stater motor. Not too bad considering the age of the vehicle. Now the biggest issue with the car is bubbling alloys and bubbling wheel arches.

To drive it’s actually quite good for a medium sized hatch. The 1600cc petrol has around 100 horse-power and feels nippy enough.

Its also comfortable enough and does not rattle or squeak for an Asian car from the 00s the interior is well built, well done Mazda!

It doesnt do very good miles per gallon however, getting mid 30’s to low 40’s - the usual for an old petrol car and about the same as his previous car a (newer) slower, smaller Vauxhall Corsa 1.4. The road tax is very high as well at £230 for the year.

A good runaround that is fairly cheap these days. Would recommend to a friend. However, my son isnt buying a newer Mazda 3 when he replaces his soon, hes looking at diesel Volkswagen Golfs.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by bobx on 9 December 2015
4
reviewed by Engineer Andy on 14 October 2015
4
reviewed by balleballe on 1 July 2014
4
reviewed by ecalperif on 11 May 2014
5
reviewed by The Idlar on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by balleballe on 25 April 2013
4
reviewed by stlee on 21 June 2011
5
reviewed by pjw956 on 1 June 2011
2
reviewed by robmar0se on 15 February 2011
5
reviewed by turbo11 on 7 January 2011
5
reviewed by hendomem on 1 January 2011

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,659–£20,345
Road TaxC–J
MPG35.8–62.8 mpg
Real MPG85.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car