Mazda 3 (2004 - 2009)

4
reviewed by ladiesman 217 on 26 April 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 July 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 June 2019
4
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 3 June 2018
4
reviewed by bobx on 9 December 2015
4
reviewed by Engineer Andy on 14 October 2015
4
reviewed by balleballe on 1 July 2014
4
reviewed by ecalperif on 11 May 2014
5
reviewed by The Idlar on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by balleballe on 25 April 2013
4
reviewed by stlee on 21 June 2011
5
reviewed by pjw956 on 1 June 2011
2
reviewed by robmar0se on 15 February 2011
5
reviewed by turbo11 on 7 January 2011
5

2.0 Sport Sunroof 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by hendomem on 1 January 2011
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Great build & reliability and very good drive- can corner at some phenominal speeds with great stability

I bought my black Mazda 3 Sport 5-door in Decemeber 2005 and have never regretted my choice for a second. The car has been extremely reliable with no suspension/brake/engine failures whatsoever. I have only had to change a sidelight bulb and an Xenon headlight ballast (quite pricey) in 82,000 miles- I am touching wood saying this! Oh, and the CD changer was replaced under warranty in 2007 as the CD's got jammed!

Pro's: Great driving position and drivers seat comfort- quite possibly one of the best cars around in for behind the wheel comfort, great reliability, lovely styling with the 17" alloys, aero bumpers and the optional mazda sports suspension improves the looks even more- it certainly makes the Audi A3 and VW Golf look utterly bland inside and out- i've always wondered people's fascination with these two models which are also quite unreliable in comparison. Great Xenon auto headlights and attractive rear LED lights, attractive fascia and blue/red ambient lighting inside, very good handling and amazing high speed stability & road holding- no roll, massive glovebox, 4 auto one touch windows and one touch sunroof very useful, a very hard wearing car and after 82,000 miles it feels the same as it did when i bought it 5 years ago. Knowing people who have the current shape Honda Civic the Mazda has much higher build quality- you only have to read the reviews of the Civic to see that whilst it's a great looking car and has many good features it is also has loads of problems unlike the Mazda.

Con's: original Bridgestone tyres give too much road noise- changed to Kumho Ecsta Sport KU31- 25% quieter and better ride and handling, engine noisy when worked hard i.e. over 5000 rpm, steering could do with being a touch more responsive, passenger front seat is too high- needs height adjustment if you are over 6 ft 2, no illuminated vanity mirrors- a little short on luxury features in general, interior lighting a tad dim, quite high road tax at £235 per year as emissions are 195c02. Alloys look great but are badly designed- they keep corroding within a year of being replaced!

Overall a great car, the pro's definitely out weigh the con's. If Mazda did the new shape Mazda 3 with the option of Xenon headlights for the 'Sport grade' and an electric sunroof I'd buy another one tomorrow. But they don't, plus the new shape seems smaller inside and slightly less substantial and cheaper inside- none of the nice piano black interior fittings or pop up sat nav system- nice features of the old model.

Underated car and well worth a look.

Report as offensive

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,659–£20,345
Road TaxC–J
MPG35.8–62.8 mpg
Real MPG85.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car